Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
89
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2009
This is one of the best books I have read this year. A revealing and sometimes harrrowing tale of a very gifted man and his struggle with his inner demons.
It recaptures all the excitement of the time, when the hour record was being broken, the intense rivalry between Graeme Obree and Chris Boardman. This book gave a real insight into the preparation, the focus and determination needed to perform these amazing feats of athleticism.
More than this though, it is the story of the man behind the myth. Obree was always seen as the eccentric one, the establishment outsider who beat the odds. This book adds flesh to the two dimensional character portrayed in the media.
A compelling read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
This is the remarkable story of a boy, marginalised by bullies & bad teachers in his early life, who rose to become one of the greatest track & time trial cyclists these islands have ever produced. I was moved by his honest account of the struggles with mental health problems; and rivetted by the passages where he described driving himself to a point almost beyond death. All the pain and suffering for one purpose, to prepare for his assault on the hour record. A page turner from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2008
Had this book for a few months and finally got around to reading it. Wish I had started sooner as in no time I was finished as it is such a captivating read. This shows what it takes to reach the top in any sport especially one with limited funding. Even if you are familiar with the Obree story it is still worth the read to fill in the details. Now must get the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
Great book , really kept me from start to finish , even the chilhood stuff.
It was amazing to find out what made him tick , although I'd say even he still doesn't know . There wasn't much mention of his parents role in his formative years, must have been very difficult to write but I'm glad he did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
I had high expectations for this book having seen all the reviews, but I was pretty bored by the time I'd got halfway through it.

There's no doubting that Obree had a torrid childhood and you can't help but feel truly sad for him as he recounts the bullying he had to endure, but as the book goes on the writing lets it down, big parts are only touched upon and some missed out completely, brushed aside with a simple 'I can't remember why' or suchlike.

All the way through its a case of 'I felt good, I then fell into depression, I then came out of it, I then fell into it, then I was ok, then.....'. It got to the stage where it was fairly obvious what was coming next. As a keen cyclist I was hoping that the training would be touched upon in more depth as well as some of the races, but it wasn't. Yes, it's a tale of one man's constant battle with depression, but it was all so repetitive that I found myself racing through the last quarter of the book just wanting it to come to an end.

Very disappointing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Amazing. How he has dealt with all those personal demons and professional discrimination and still archived great feats without performance enhancing drugs is nothing short of incredible. What a man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Really good read. A moving and at times quite disturbing account of a bullied schoolboy who conquered the world of cycling, albeit having to fight his demons daily. I thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
I can relate to this being an
active person with mental illness not knowing how to deal with it until I finally getting proper help & support.Actually met Mr Obree really is genuine nice guy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
Fascinating insight into a brilliant but troubled cyclist. Recommended especially if you are into cycling around that era when the biggest name was Boardman but Obree was as good a cyclist ?better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Honest and often amazing story results in a very immersive reading experience - particularly interesting for those with an interest in cycling, but also a book about people and emotions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)