Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
25
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Neon Court: A Matthew Swift Novel (Matthew Swift Novels)
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 July 2017
Fantastic!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
Urban fantasy is a tricky subject. When its done right it can be full of amazing images and concepts like Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files and Mike Carey's Felix Castor novels. When its bad it becomes either overrun with romance or erotica or simply loses its fantasy and becomes more thriller. Griffin's third Matthew Swift novel seems to be keeping brilliantly on track - she's developed her own pattern for these novels and it keeps working. So who is Matthew Swift?

Well Swift was a sorceror but he got murdered, never fear because he managed to resurrect himself with the blue electric angels that live in telephone lines (book 1). So far so good, then he managed to get summoned and somehow became Midnight Mayor of London, which means its his job to protect the city (book 2). Still keeping up? Good because in this book thankfully he doesn't gain another personality but he does manage to start a war, find a 'chosen one' and play monopoly with a seer in order to tell the future. Poor Swift, despite having a not unsubstantial amount of power at his finger tips he does seem to get dragged into a lot of bad situations that he doesn't understand. An unlikely hero to say the least. Yet he is our hero, and his dogged determination to do the right thing and maintain some sort of human-ish life (the electric angels quite like being alive) are what drives the series. Griffin's writing style may annoy those who like proper chapters and don't like different fonts or especially in this novel text message style speech, but I think it adds to the story. This is still a relatively new series so I recommend that you start reading it now and hope that it continues for quite a while yet.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 February 2011
If you're reading this then either you've already read the first two in this series (A Madness of Angels (Matthew Swift 1),The Midnight Mayor: Bk. 2: A Matthew Swift Novel (Matthew Swift 2)), or not. If you haven't, then you really should. Each story is a standalone book, but it is a series, and so the first ones should be read to fully understand what is going on here.

If you have read the first two books, and enjoyed them - this one is a must. Still adjusting to his new role as The Midnight Mayor, Matthew Swift finds himself thrown into the middle of a war between the beautiful members of The Neon Court, and The Tribe - their complete opposite. If this wasn't bad enough, the sun has disappeared and very few have noticed.

Still no actual chapters though.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2011
Having felt a little disappointed with the second title in the series I hoped that this one would pick up on not only the excitement but also the potential that the first novel showed and whilst there's a number of new titles coming out I've missed something on the scale of Neverwhere with the touch of the Noughties added. What this title does is keep the reader enthused with a lead character as vivid as Mike Carey's Felix Castor, the scope/wonderment of Ben Aaronovitch's Rivers of London and tied up with the dialogue and smart-ass style of Suzanne McLeod's Spellcasters.com.

Add to that great pace alongside a plot outline to keep you going to the last line and you know that this series really has got a lot more potential to evolve into something entirely unique. A real joy to read and I really can't wait for the next instalment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
When Matthew Swift finds himself physically summoned into the middle of a burning building by a friend who despite being stabbed in the heart is still alive he little realizes it is the start of battle that could destroy all of London. The Neon Court (aka modern faries) are demanding the return of 'the chosen one' from the Tribe, a group of self mutilating anarchists. If Matthew can't give them the chosen one then there will be blood on the streets..but Matthew is about to find he has bigger problems than this.

This is not really the best book to start this series. While it can be read alone you'll get the best out of it if you read the preceding novels A Madness of Angels (Matthew Swift 1) and The Midnight Mayor: Bk. 2: A Matthew Swift Novel (Matthew Swift 2). For those who have read the previous books this continues to be an excellent series, which is for me compelling. Matthew is a complex character who tries to do his best in situations that would sink most of us. These novels are from a first person point of view, which for me is a strength as I love to spend time with a well written character like Matthew. I'm really looking forward to the next book in this series due out next year called "the minority council".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
Kate Griffin delivered superb, taut story-lines in the first two Matthew Swift novels and delivers again with this third installment. If urban fantasy is your thing, buy the three books and indulge.
A Madness of Angels (Matthew Swift 1)
The Midnight Mayor: Bk. 2: A Matthew Swift Novel (Matthew Swift 2)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
But I really wanted to give it 4.5 rather than 5 stars.

Don't get me wrong - I thoroughly enjoyed the sheer London-ness of it, the characterisation, the plot, the sustained action... The sheer splendour of the word art continues. I just have to be careful to spread out my Kate Griffin reading. There is a limit to the amount of exhausted, beaten up, enduring by the fingernails tension that I can bear. Even catching a bus seems to involve huge amounts of physical suffering, and the exhaustion was at its peak in this book by the fact that if someone fell asleep, they simply did not wake up.

Give me a nice long break, and I will be rested enough for the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
He has survived being killed by his Teachers Shadow.
He has banished the death of Cities.

This time he is up against an old friend who has become the thing at the edge of the dark and cannot die.
Summoned by magic into the midst of a war between two fueding clans of Magicians.
Caught between the primitive savages of the urban tribe and the Techn Fae of the Neon Court.
Matthew swift, sorceror, once human, now the electric blue angels has to grow into his role as Midnight mayor of the true London in order to prevent its destruction.

This is the third book in the Matthew Swift series.

It builds on the previous two books. Matthew swift is an urban sorceror, a master of the magic inherent in cities.
He has died and become a thing of magic and telecommunication. Composed of magic and the elemental power of bound up in electricity and telephone cables.
He is also the midnight mayor , the appointed magical representative of the city of London.
This third book seemed quite strange, its almost a reprise of the last book. Matthew coming to terms with the role of Mayor without the struggle to overcome the limitation of being bound by a role. The character and the book both seemed to settle into a sad resignation of acceptance at his fate and role.

The 'electric blue angels' arent enough of a novelty to carry the storyline any more. The most interesting secondary character from earlier books Oda is now the bad guy in this book, but has been shorn of any personality as the mute host to a malign magic. There is an interesting twist at the end of the book, which should have captivated me more but it felt liek an afterthought more than the elegant end to the novel. Id have liked to give this four stars but it was a fair read not a dazzling one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I would strongly recommend every Matthew Swift book, but this is definitely my favourite. I love all the characters- anybody sick of one-dimensional female characters will adore the array offered in this novel- and I love the plotline, I love the horror, I love the humour... it's definitely worth your time (though do make sure to read the previous two novels first).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Kate Griffin's mix of magic, magical people and modern London continues to be brilliantly original. First-time readers are advised to start with the first book of the series. Once again we join our vulnerable but potent hero (and his permanent lodgers, the Blue Electric Angels) in a mixture of the seamy side and other aspects of London.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse