Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 15 June 2016
Absolutely glued to this book. Best I have read in a while, a refreshing concept and great take on the world of the instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2014
Too much about Blogging and Politics, not enough zombie action.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2016
Brilliant series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2014
Horribly written, no believable dialogue between characters; painful to read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2016
Superb read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2011
It starts in the same way as Feed, with someone poking a zombie with a stick but soon departs in a different direction. If you haven't read Feed yet, then this review will contain spoilers for the first book in the trilogy.

The narration moves to Shaun in this instalment. I think the man we see from his point of view is different from the one George saw and described in Feed. Maybe we can let him off as he's having a tough time getting over the loss of his sister, although she's not completely gone; Shaun has started to hear her voice in his head. He's aware he's most likely crazy but that doesn't stop him trying to get to the bottom of the conspiracy which got her killed.

Whereas Feed dealt with the evolution of news reporting and spread of information, Deadline doesn't have any strong message other than the need for answers. There's a lot of repetition, I lost count of the times Shaun explained about his craziness or that he just doesn't care what other people think. The novel is over 500 pages long and it could have easily lost 200 of them and been a better book. Considering they're running round avoiding the CDC and zombies, it all felt a little slow and that wasn't helped by the desire to slap the whining out of Shaun.

And as for those zombies, they didn't really feature much. It was much more about the Kellis-Amberlee virus which in itself is interesting but didn't have a strong enough plot to carry it. There's an event which occurs nearer the end which I would have loved brought forward as it suddenly became gripping and there were all these unanswered questions swirling round in my head. Though I kind of saw the actual ending coming.

Saying all that, I will be reading Blackout when it's released. I like the world that was created in Feed and I want to know what happens next...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2011
Deadline had a lot to prove after Feed. At first I wasn't sure where the plot was going, it certainly has plenty to keep any conspiracy theorist happy.

Shaun is still struggling with the loss of George. He's having mental conversations and visions of her. But is it just grief, a coping mechanism, or does he have a yet undiscovered reservoir of of KA?

We learn a little more about the dynamics of the After The End of Times team and how they work together and dealing with teh way Shaun behaves.

Cloning raises it's head in this book. 2 clones come to light.

At the end of the book Shaun gets bitten. This is due to a new form of transmission of KA causing large outbreaks in the Sout East of the USA.

It's very difficult to talk about this sequel without the risk of spoilers.

I had to get used tot he blogs entries littering Feed. They continue here but seems less than before. However the input between Shaun and dead George almost makes up for it.

I think this is a worthwhile sequel.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2012
Yes this book ( and its predecessor ) is as good as World War Z ! The author really does get Zombies - unlike the many Romero influnced clone writers out there.
Firstly - and in common with 'Z' it acknowledges that although a Zombie plague not gone airborne/transmitted by insects would reduce but by no means eliminate human population - it develops its own fascinating and feasible sub-cultures around 'The Rising' and there are none of the hideous plot holes that most ( self-published ) genre writers fall into.
Secondly - it is incredibly well written, with the main characters being very believable and witty and theres lots of dry black humour thrown in for good measure.
Buy this book - and the first of the trilogy too - its so good that even if someone isnt into the Zombie genre it would still be an excellent read for them. VERY highly recommended ....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 December 2012
It's several months after FEED and Shaun still hasn't recovered from the murder of his sister Georgia - to the extent that he now hears her voice in his head. He's retired as an Irwin but still runs After The End Times with the considerable help of Mahir from his base in London. When Dr Kelly Connolly from the CDC suddenly arrives on his doorstep it's troubling for a number of reasons, not least of which is the fact that she's been reported on the blogsphere as having died.

Kelly's brought news of a troubling conspiracy within CDC relating to data on the spread of the Kellis-Ambrose virus (the virus that led to the zombie apocalypse). Shaun almost immediately gets an idea of how powerful a conspiracy this is when the powers that be call down a firestorm on the headquarters of his blog. Soon he and his team are on the trail to get to the bottom of the mystery, which will see them go cross-country, encounter underground labs and meet lots and lots of zombies ...

Mira Grant's sequel to FEED develops the overall conspiracy story arc and widens the scope of the action while giving Shaun a more central role.

Depressed by Georgia's death, Shaun's getting used to the responsibility that comes with leadership. His conversations with Georgia worked well and Grant does well at showing how his attachment to her harms his relationship with others, especially new Irwin head, Rebecca, who's emotional interest Shaun remains oblivious to.

You don't need to have read FEED to follow DEADLINE, but you get more from it if you do. Although I'm a little tired of shadowy government conspiracies and games within games, Grant keeps it going well and it's interesting to get a new slant on familiar characters.

There's plenty of zombie action but at times it got a little repetitive albeit not as repetitive as the scenes where Grant shows the procedures that people have to go through to show they're zombie free. These became really boring after a while, frequently killing tension and deadening pace and I wished that she'd just skipped over it in a couple of sentences rather than plunge into the detail.

However the book does end with a real jaw-dropper shock, which should really shake things up for book 3, which I will definitely be checking out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2012
It is clear this book was written for a purpose, a message of some sort, because it is a zombie book - yet I feel zombies were not the focus. For a 550 page book there are surprisingly few zombie encounters; in fact I was relieved when the Eakly attack happened, since I was starting to wonder whether the zombies would actually feature again.

So if the focus isn't zombies, what is? Is it the relationship between Shaun and Georgia? is it the journey they make from beta journalists to alpha to national plot uncoverers? Or is it about the "truth" Georgia so vehemently pursues? If so then I feel the book did not mirror this enough; after all we never find out who is really behind the big plan, nor their true reasons for it. We only find out about one man involved, who confesses practically nothing. We never even see or find out about the attackers.

I feel that the book spent too much time with background zombie related things such as the blood tests than actual zombies to be one of those books that focus on action and excitement like most zombie books. So it must make a point somewhere, but I feel it wasn't clear enough.

Nevertheless, it was a good book; I enjoyed the zombie attacks where they happened, and the story itself was enthralling. Maybe we find out more details of the plot in the sequel, but somehow it won't be the same with the book ending the way it did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse