Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
Enjoyed these books very much. Well written and full of excitement and plots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
For some reason I felt the book slowed down a bit around the middle. I was planning to put it down for another but the darn thing just kept getting more and more interesting.

I just finished the book and I’m glad that I kept at it. The ending is enough to pull me yet again to the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Ugbihbbgj. UThanks b u j hnihbugh ihbuhdgib Gucci ygcytfg f hjjsjjjkwisik is ie is. Jen I sisnnjjk. Kdkmd imd is ks is sk smoke k s
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a fan of Daniels other titles I couldn't wait to get my hands on this, his brand new series. As you'd expect the writing is crisp, the characters memorable and they stand out as a cast that have learned from their pasts and try to influence their futures for their own betterment. It's cleverly done and when war is in the offing, it matters not how much you try to do to avoid it, you'll always be drawn in one way or another.

Add to this crisp prose, some great descriptiveness and some magical abilities and afflictions that will make this book stand out for quite some time. Finally as this tale unfurls the reader may find themselves slightly confused as the multitude of cultures populating this small world but each adds a unique flavour as well as perspective upon not only the frailty of the conditions within but also a deeper flavour to help bring this world alive. Wonderfully done and I'll look forward to the next part.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 July 2013
I loved the way this book put economics at the heart of the action: not often bankers get to be heroes! The plot grows out of the characters, rather then being superimposed, and the depiction of Gedder is especially interesting - a villain with complexities.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
This was hugely enjoyable and satisfying read. The Dragon's Path is book one in a completed quintet and if the next four keep up the excellent standard found here, it has the potential to be a classic series.

George R R Martin describes this as everything he looks for in fantasy: me too. The world building is rich and varied. The plot is intricate and clicks together well but it's the characters that will stay with you. Multiple point of view structured books are a gamble; because if one character is weak, that chapter will suck the life from the book and destroy the momentum. That's not a problem here. All the characters are fascinating - not necessarily likeable - but fascinating all the same.

There are two characters in particular who are simply outstanding creations. First is Geder: a bullied, put upon, bookish but highly intelligent minor noble, he is a revelation. His story arc stunned me in a truly positive way.

Next is Cithrin: a young woman who was orphaned and brought up as a ward of the bank. As with Geder, she shows growth albeit in a more subtle and complex way. Both are a marvel.

It's also a unique novel in that it uses finance, economics and trade to rationalise and explain characters actions and interactions. If I've made it sound dry, don't worry it's not. Abraham makes it very accessible and it blends seamlessly into the plot as all good exposition should.

The magic element is perfectly executed. This review is as spoiler free as possible but the magic is something I haven't seen much of in the genre and it's such a clever thing and has the potential to create intriguing plots.

One slight problem was the character of Dawson. As stated above not all the protagonists are likeable and he is absolutely odious. But he's still interesting and that's what counts. It was a brave choice to have chapters based around him but it works.

Complex, satisfying and highly recommended. 10/10.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2017
The plot has a few nice twists and turns and the pace is fast.

The characters are generally likeable and believable, there are some of the standard fantasy types but written well and there are a few surprising characters too.

The good and bad side is left largely unclear although the bigger plot looming makes it clear who the bad guys will eventually be.

The ending tidies up a lot of plot threads while leaving bigger ones open for the following books.

In some ways this reminds of R Scott Bakker's "The Prince Of Nothing" series but with more humour and more likeable characters.

It doesn't have the scope or depth of a Steven Erikson book but it is an intelligent and enjoyable read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
The Dragon's Path follows four main protagonists: Geder, a noble in military service, Cithrin, the determined ward of a bank threatened by invasion, Marcos the military hero who's chequered past leads him to take Cithrin under his wing and Dawson, a noble conspiring to protect his King against traitors and rebellion.

All four of them are all flawed in some way creating interesting situations as their story's develop.
Cithrin is an orphan with a flair for business, coming into adulthood, she begins to see sex as a way to gain information and turns to alcohol when things start to go wrong for her. Her part is not the most compelling but the characters around her keep the story from becoming flat.

Marcus is more straightforward, the ex-hero who lost loved ones and becomes closed when coming into contact with others, aside from Yardem, his trustworthy Tralgu... His best moments are with Master Kit, a troupe leader with a lot of charisma and a hidden identity.

My two favorite characters were Geder and Dawson. Dawson is a stubborn nobleman believing in the higher calling of aristocracy, his plans to save his friend the King and the monarchy seemed doomed to failure, but the political intrigue was a stand out feature of the book for me. His family entourage is composed of a great supporting cast including his wife, bodyguard and sons. Geder is a young outcast dreamer, sent to war but he'd much prefer to read a book. A low born noble Geder is the butt of the company jokes until his fortunes take a better turn. His storyline is both fun, horrific and distressing to follow. He ends up being the saviour of the kingdom but equally he could lead to its doom.

This is the first novel by Daniel Abraham that I have read although I have had the Long Price quartet on my to read shelf for quite some time now. This story centres on excellent characterisation, not a great deal of action and I will defiantly read the second book in the series to see where Geder's storyline goes.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
The story kept me interested enough to read all 5 books.

Main characters were well fleshed out.

Some interesting ideas such as a banker being the hero ...not sure I was convinced about how her financial genius could save the world though.

But , in between lots of navel gazing, philosophy and planning , there is very little action. From memory there is excitement 57% of the way into book 3, 20% into book 4 and at the end of book 5.

It also doesn't help with such a pedestrian story that the final plan is something that occurred to me half way through the second book and could have been implemented at that stage except none of these heroes thought of it until we got to book 5. But any right minded half intelligent character would have.

Passed the time but pretty costly books as well..can't totally recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
I'd read and quite liked Daniel Abraham's Long Price series but the reviews for this didn't seem as good and I never got round to reading it. Recently I got bored and decided to give it a go and I'm glad I did. The book is structured with each chapter following a particular character (like the Game of Thones series). I often find this becomes annoying as certain characters are inevitably more interesting than others. I found that to be less of a case in this book, with characters been very different but generally equally interesting. I still found the odd chapter annoying but never found myself wanting to skip an entire character. I especially liked the ending (even if the reveal was fairly obvious from early in the book) and am very much looking forward to reading the next book(s) in the series.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse