Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The Wheel of Time is finished. That's a statement that's going to take a while to get used to. The first volume of the series, The Eye of the World, was published in January 1990. George Bush Snr. and Margaret Thatcher were still in power and the Cold War was still ongoing. Fourteen books, four million words, eleven thousand pages and over fifty million sales (in North America alone) later, the conclusion has finally arrived. Can it possibly live up to the expectations built up over that time?

It is a tribute to the plotting powers of Robert Jordan, the writing skill of Brandon Sanderson (who took over the series after Jordan's untimely death in 2007) and the hard work of Jordan's editors and assistants that A Memory of Light is - for the most part - a triumphant finale. Given the weight of expectations resting on the novel, not to mention the unfortunate circumstances under it was written, it is unsurprising that it is not perfect. The novel occasionally misfires, is sometimes abrupt in how it resolves long-running plot strands and sometimes feels inconsistent with what has come before. However, it also brings this juggernaut of an epic fantasy narrative to an ending that makes sense, is suitably massive in scope and resolves the series' thematic, plot and character arcs satisfactorily - for the most part.

It is a familiar viewpoint that The Wheel of Time is a slow-burning series, with Robert Jordan not afraid to have his characters sitting around talking about things for entire chapters (or, in one case, an entire novel) rather than getting on with business. However, Jordan at his best used these lengthy dialogue scenes to set up plot twists and explosive confrontations further down the line, pulling together the elements he'd established previously in surprising and interesting ways. This reached a high in the slow-moving sixth book, which ended with what is regarded by many as the series' best climax to date at the Battle of Dumai's Wells. Steven Erikson (whose Malazan series is the most notable recent mega-long fantasy series to have also reached a final conclusion) used the term 'convergence' for such structural climaxes and it's fair to say that this is what A Memory of Light is: a convergence for the entire series. All thirteen of the previous novels lined up plot cannons in preparation for the Last Battle, and in the closing chapters of Towers of Midnight Brandon Sanderson started triggering them.

The result is not The Wheel of Time you may be familiar with. A Memory of Light is a brutal, bruising, 900-page war novel that kicks off with all hell breaking loose and doesn't pause for breath until the ending. The prologue starts with a well-paced sequence as we find out the state of play for the major characters, intercut with Talmanes and the Band of the Red Hand engaging hordes of Shadowspawn on the streets of Caemlyn. The rotation of scenes between the desperate street fighting and more familiar politicking is highly effective and is exhausting in itself. Immediately after this we alternate between Rand's attempts to pull together a coalition against the Shadow whilst a small group of Asha'man try to save their organisation from destruction against overwhelming odds. No sooner is that over than the Last Battle is joined in full force. Vast armies clash, channellers engage one another in One Power exchanges that dwarf anything seen before in the series and lots of stuff blows up. There's more action sequences in A Memory of Light than the rest of the series put together, more than earning the adage 'The Last Battle'.

The action sequences (which make up almost the whole book) are, for the most part, impressive but benefit from unpredictability. Jordan has been criticised for making his characters too safe, with almost no major character of note (on either side) dying in the previous books of the series. This limitation has been removed for the Last Battle. Major characters, middling ones and scores of minor ones are scythed down in this final confrontation with near-wild abandon. Some get heroic, fitting, blaze-of-glory ends. Some die in manners so unexpected, offhand and callous that even George R.R. Martin might nod in approval. Many of the survivors are seriously wounded, either in body or mind. Jordan's experiences as a Vietnam vet informed Rand al'Thor's arc in The Gathering Storm, and resurface here when one major character is tortured by the Shadow before being rescued, but spends the rest of the book suffering the effects of his experiences. The war scenes are suitably epic and exciting, but Sanderson remembers to include moments counting the cost of such a struggle.

That said, there is an annoying discrepancy in the Last Battle sequence compared to earlier novels. Based on the army sizes in previous volumes and the number of channellers in each faction, the good guys should have brought the better part of a million troops and five thousand One Power-wielders to the Last Battle, and the Shadow several times more. There is no indication that such vast numbers are present, which seems rather odd. There is also the fact that the channellers suddenly seem to be much less effective in mass combat than previously shown. This is most blatant when Logain is angrily told that he and a couple of dozen Asha'man cannot hope to defeat a hundred thousand Trollocs by themselves. Given this is exactly what happened in one scene in Knife of Dreams, I can only conclude that the channellers were deliberately reduced in power for this book, which is very strange.

For the most part, this is the level of problems A Memory of Light presents: something mildly irritating to those who prefer consistency from fictional works but ultimately not hugely relevant to the overall thrust of the narrative. Similar issues can be found with a number of very minor subplots that the novel fails to resolve (or even address) from earlier volumes. In some cases these may be examples of what Robert Jordan himself said would happen in the last book, with some elements left deliberately hanging to give the illusion that life goes on after the last page is turned. In other cases, it may be that Jordan did not draft out how those storylines ended, so Sanderson chose to leave them rather than risk too inventing too much of his own material. Sanderson even refuses to name an important river that Jordan did not name himself, resulting is a slightly awkward battle sequence where characters talk about the 'river on the border', the 'river on the battlefield' and so on, which is a bit laboured.

However, whilst the war scenes rage there is also a philosophical struggle at the heart of the book, and of the series. This struggle is shown in the confrontation between Rand and the Dark One in which their visions of the world and the Wheel are shown in conflict with one another. Robert Jordan was convinced that whilst there were certainly complexities and shades of grey in real life, he also believed that real good and real evil existed, and these ideas form part of the philosophical struggle that takes place alongside the battles. How successful this is will vary (perhaps immensely) from reader to reader, but is not helped by some muddling of the issues. The primary struggle of the books has consistently been Good vs. Evil, but in this philosophy-off the idea of the Creator personifying Order and the Dark One Chaos also arises, possibly as their primary roles. This is in conflict with the rest of the series and is also more tiresomely familiar and predictable. Once that interpretation arises, it's impossible not to think of the ending of the Shadow War in the TV series Babylon 5, and the resolution we get is not a million miles away from it (Rand even gets a line almost as awful as "Get the hell out of our galaxy!").

On the prose side of things, it's pretty much the same set-up as The Gathering Storm and Towers of Midnight: acceptable, faster-paced and a bit less prone to unnecessary introspection. Where Sanderson comes undone (yet again) is his very occasional use of terminology and language that Jordan would never have used, particularly modern words and terms. Though relatively rare, they still jar a little bit when they appear. The book's centrepiece is a single chapter that is almost 200 pages (and 70,000 words) long in hardcover, with some 70 POV characters playing a role. Apparently both Sanderson and Jordan wrote parts of this chapter, and a few minor inconsistencies aside their writing styles mesh very well. The very last section of the epilogue, written by Robert Jordan himself before he passed (including, rather eerily, Jordan's epitaph from his own funeral), is indeed a fitting way to end the book.

Taking everything into account, A Memory of Light is a lot better than perhaps we had any right to expect. The book is a relentless steamroller of action, explosions, plot resolutions, deaths and philosophical (if somewhat confused) arguing. Some elements are under-resolved, or a little too convenient, or not fleshed out enough. But that's par for the course with any ending to a series this huge. The big questions are answered, the final scene is fitting and the story ends in a way that is true to itself, which is the most we can ask for.
77 Comments| 184 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
I feel emotionally battered and bruised after finishing A Memory of Light but also satisfied.

After the last 20 years I am used to the enjoyable slow burn of the Wheel of Time novels. The final novel in the series, 'A Memory of Light' is different. It is brutal, an assault on the senses, the action does not relent and you are left in no doubt the 'Last Battle' is here.

The book itself is epic. The battle scenes are intense and are wonderfully written. Characters finish their arcs sometimes in blazes of glory, other times in brutally unexpected ways, and the heroes journeys are ended.

A very minor gripe is that the ending left many subplots open for interpretation which is not normally a bad thing but somewhere deep down I feel that after a 20+ year investment I could have seen a slightly longer epilogue.

As a side note to the publisher I was also slightly frustrated I was unable to get this as an ebook/kindle on release.

A very worthy end to a wonderful series.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Lord knows the Wheel of Time series has flaws. All fans know that. Plot missteps, idiosyncratic touches which did not always work. Characterization that did not work for everyone.

Nevertheless, no series - none - has earned its ending volume quite like The Wheel of Time. Epic is a word that is overused, but for this series, it genuinely has to apply. No series earns its sacrfices, its twists, its darker moments, with quite the weight of this series. The scale, the depth, the engagement with characters taking dark, sometimes unpalatable paths, and, yes, the length, all contribute to this. None of its flaws overcome how much impact the journey of the series has had on me, and has truly tested the standard forms of the genre while making them feel real and emotionally satisfying; the role of any good reconstructionist.

Rand al Thor was the Chosen One, and no Chosen One ever suffered so much, transformed so much - even into places which were not pleasant - and actually earned the Chosen One label like he did. His journey was real, tragic and draining, and yet his position as prophesized chosen did not feel cheap, as it so often does, as he plainly was the chosen figure of the world for demonstrable reason, a force on the Pattern as much as the evil they all faced. And with a case of engaging, flawed, heroic, complex and yes, even frustrating, core characters, the series built a world of enviable complexity and idiotic humanity, that drew us in even when it dragged or annoyed. Even the seemingly two dimensional had true depth to them. People changed, grew, devolved and above all lived.

No world ever suffered like the world of the Wheel of Time, or at least not for so long in our memories building for book after book. We saw it approaching the end for so long, and believed it, building an apocalypse that matches the dread of the bleak brutality of Westeros despite the vastly different styles of writing. Whole nations seemed to have their own stories we only glimpsed, and yet did not feel tacked on but part of the overall chaos these characters experienced. The atrocities and heroics did not take place in some flimsy construct, but in a land which gave it all weight.

As a finale, A Memory of Light could be hard to follow sometimes, flitting about at light speed between seemingly hundreds of locations and characters coming together in, appropriately, one giant tapestry of epic conclusion. It was only ever going to be thus. As the final planned third of the final book, the glut of action was inevitable, and the confusing mass of characters, motivations and backstories is par for the course for Wheel of Time fans. There are moments of humour (mostly from Mat ;)), glorious heroics, heartbreaking sacrifices and moments of incredible tension as the costs of actions took on all involved.

It was well structured despite the action heavy focus, juggling the incredible weaving of plots with skill, and had moments of emotional power throughout, and I read it all in one day.

Was it perfect? No. I mostly adored the ending conflict and scenes, but without spoiling felt the emotion was undercut by some decisions. It did feel very rushed, as though some other plots should have been resolved or at least addressed in the previous two volumes, leading to some exchanges that just seemed too brief for the occasion, and for my own personal preferences, there was still too much focus on some characters I'm not particularly fond of, but that's on me. I do like being able to imagine the stories of characters beyond an ending, even if I don't necessarily care to see any (which is one problem I had with Mass Effect 3's ending - wondering what the point of all the emotion and energy put into the world and characters had been for if I couldn't picture how things might play out, for good or ill), and appreciated that the world of the books feels real to me, even after this epic story has concluded. There will be triumphs and disasters for these people and world, even if we do not get to see them.

I would thoroughly recommend this series despite all its flaws and length, for though its style might not be for all to enjoy, its development of character in sometimes unexpected directions, it's grand plot that attempts a truly world shattering, high stakes end of world scenario, without copping out on the scale, even if it does require splitting of focus in many places and among many people to keep a character focus to emotionally invest us. And A Memory of Light delivered on much of what was promised. It was a good Wheel of Time book, a mostly fitting conclusion which did not hold back and was not afraid to take risks with characters or plots. Not all of those I liked, even including with the ending, but any negatives won't stay with me in the face of all the good. I read the whole thing in less than 6 hours I was that gripped with its tale.

Well written, emotional, exciting, epic. Fans should be pleased with the finale we got (minor quibbles aside), and what a journey it has been to experience along with all its players. Nostalgia for the whole series makes me want to give it a five star, but four is still great, make no mistake. I look forward to many more rereads of the whole series, and recommend all do the same, with this book in many ways a glorious celebration of the series.
33 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
Without a doubt, I expected this to be epic, but I wasn't prepared for the scale of the Last Battle. From pretty much the first page right up until the last chapter, A Memory of Light delivers hard hitting, complex and fast paced action sequences interspersed with pacy dialogue and characters who die frequently.

How on earth BS managed to write this I have no idea, but I would heartily recommend it.

Just... damn. Awesome.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
great book loved it, dont pay attension to those fools who give one star because of no ebook. You should know that they do that to prevent people from torrenting ebooks on release day and hurting those who spent thier lifetimes writing brilliant books for us to read. 'punishing publishers' by giving 1 star is childish and is an insult o the legacy of the wheel of time. once again great conclusion to a truly epic series
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I started reading this epic series in the early 90's and have been in turned frustrated, bored and then just determined to see this through come hell or high water. I suspect this was my overwhelming drive when I read this - I just wanted to know how it finished. Alas, the entire series led to essentially 900 plus pages of battle tactics and war (was I naive to expect something more?). While interesting to a point (Sanderson has masterful control over the battles raging) it became quite painful. The heart of the book is Rand's quest and a ludicrous proposition to defeat the Dark Lord. To be human is to understand the raging battle between our good nature and our inherent evil. Kay and Martin are true masters at brining this to the fore, but the scope of WOT have left the characters stretched thin, left to perform their final functions in a mechanistic fashion. Its a necessary read, not a fantastic one.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
This book is an action packed and fitting end to a series that I have read since it was first published. Admittedly the series started to drag in the middle but it picked up again and this is great finale. It is non stop action from beginning to end. There are parts that I would have liked resolved better (the seanchan and their damane for instance) but overall the ending is satisfying. If you have not read this epic series then buy The Eye of the World and start reading it. This is a masterpiece of modern fantasy which is the best or at the very least comfortably compares with the best in the genre. All I can say is thank you Robert Jordan for the series and may you rest in peace and thank you Brandon Sanderson for finishing it so ably.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
A great end to one the greatest stories ever written in my opinion. I cried when i finished the book because although i was pleased that i finally got to read the end, it was as if i was loosing a dear friend. That friend died well. I pay my respects to RJ and thank BS for finishing the story and not leaving us fans hanging. You both did brilliant jobs and i will forever remain thankful.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
As someone who has been reading The Wheel of Time saga right from the very beginning – that’s almost two dozen years of my life – writing a review of the final book was always going to be a bittersweet experience. Sad, inevitably, because, like it or not, the wheel has finally turned full circle and this really is the end; happy, hopefully, because the series could (and should) go out on a high note. Once I finished reading A Memory of Light I did indeed feel a conflicting range of emotions – but not the ones I was expecting! Yes, there was sadness, yes, there was joy, but there was also irritation, frustration, resentment and more than a little confusion. I purposely avoided Amazon and every other site that might have featured a review of the book until I finished it, for fear of spoilers and other people’s views colouring my own experience of AMOL. Once I did look at the reviews of the finale of the WOT I have to say my confusion only grew. Take the US Amazon page for example – at the time of writing it featured around 400 five-star ratings and 300 one-star ratings! I’ll go into more detail concerning the reasons for this massive diversity of reviews but, suffice to say, I found that I had very little in common with the opinions of those at either end of the spectrum. Instead, I found myself nodding as I read many of the two, three and four-star reviews. If that’s the sort of rating that those of you reading this post gave AMOL then you might agree with a lot of the things that I’m about to say – equally you might find yourself violently disagreeing! Either way, this is my own like-it-or-leave-it, bias-free, non-commercial take on the final volume of the series which, more than any other (sorry George R R Martin fans!), has dominated the fantasy bookshelves for the past two decades.

***SPOILERS – BEWARE!***

First, let me say a word about the aforementioned Amazon reviews of the book. This is a slight generalization but, for the most part, I found that a lot of the five-star reviews seemed to be praising either the series as a whole, or Brandon Sanderson’s (admittedly laudable) work in tying together the loose threads left by Robert Jordan after his death into a coherent narrative. The one-star reviews, meanwhile, were almost entirely made up of people protesting about the publisher’s decision to delay until spring the release of the e-book version of the novel. Neither of these seem to me to be a particularly valid way to rate AMOL. True, I myself would probably give the WOT series as a whole a better rating than the final book on its own and true, I’m as annoyed as anyone by the commercially motivated decision not to release the print and e-book simultaneously. However, it’s also my view that if you’re going to review a piece of work you should concentrate on the novel in front of you, ignoring what has gone before it as well as any other extraneous issues – so that’s what I’m going to do. I always try to be as positive as I can so I’ll start by looking at what I liked about AMOL.

I definitely liked the first third of the book much more than the final two thirds because, at that early stage, it really seemed to be shaping up to be a humdinger of a finale, as well as delivering on all the promise of the volumes that had gone before. The prologue expertly mixed frenetic action scenes involving relatively minor characters with more slow-moving developments in the meta-plot. Having some characters fight for their lives while others talked and considered weighty matters provided a pleasing contrast. When the major players started to take centre stage we were then treated to some nice character moments – the whole sequence involving the argument between Rand and Egwene at the Field of Merrilor, followed up by the reappearance of Moiraine and ending with the relief of Lan on the Malkier battlefront particularly stands out. The battle scenes, at least early on, were breathtaking – a real sign of Brandon Sanderson playing to his strengths, as well as finally delivering on all of the decades of buildup to the Last Battle. While we’ve seen some terrific action scenes before in the WOT, there is definitely an added edge to the ones in AMOL, given that we know that this is the last book, where no one is guaranteed to survive. After a few pleasingly brutal flourishes that might have impressed even George R R Martin, you are genuinely concerned every single time one of your favourite characters enters the fray – which is, I suppose, exactly how it should be when it comes to a book which is essentially about war. Oh yes, and if you’re a fan of Mat, this is definitely his book. He gets virtually all the best lines as well as stealing almost every scene that he’s in, in much the same way that Tyrion Lannister does in A Song of Ice and Fire.

So far so good, but even the positives that I’ve outlined above carry some hints about the weaknesses of AMOL. Let’s go back to the prologue, where the minor character Talmanes really gets to shine for the first time in the entire series. He fights heroically (killing no less than two Myrddraal on his own!) but then does virtually nothing in the rest of the novel. Had he been killed off at the end of the prologue that would have made more sense and been more fitting. Unfortunately, this is by no means an isolated example. Take Moiraine: yes, her comeback is memorable but after that first scene with Rand, what does she really add to the story? She’s a virtual passenger at Shayol Ghul. Thom Merrilin is one of my favourite characters in the WOT but, given his negligible impact on AMOL I really don’t know why he was included in this book at all. Another of my favourite characters, Padan Fain, makes such an insultingly brief appearance at the end of AMOL that I wonder why he was kept alive beyond The Shadow Rising – I mean, what did he meaningfully contribute to the series after that book? Slayer, meanwhile, was also kept long past his sell-by date. Whilst his Wolf Dream battles with Perrin were undoubtedly one of the highlights of Towers of Midnight, here they just feel like a tired re-tread and the conclusion of their personal feud feels hugely anti-climactic. Proof, if any were needed, that when it comes to the WOT, more is very often less.

Apart from Fain and Slayer, the other villains in AMOL were equally disappointing. Demandred, supposedly one of the greatest tacticians who ever lived, couldn’t work out that Rand – the Dragon Reborn, fated to battle the Dark One and all that – is in Shayol Ghul, erm, fighting the Dark One!?! As far as Moridin/Ishamael is concerned, it turns out that he wasn’t really bothered about serving the Dark One and destroying the Dragon after all, he just wanted to cash in his chips – a very dubious motivation, which wasn’t sign-posted at all in the previous thirteen books. As for Moghedien being caught and collared by the Seanchan, hang on – wasn’t that exactly what happened to Elaida in an earlier volume!?! The Dark One himself should have been much more scary and memorable, not just a disembodied voice philosophising endlessly with Rand in a cave. In fact one of the best potential villains was Tuon, a thoroughly unlikable character whose ‘romance’ with Mat is totally unbelievable. Not exploiting her full potential for villainy by getting her to betray her fragile allegiance to the side of Light was, I feel, a missed opportunity.

Then we come to the ‘heroes’ who died: Egwene, Suian, Gareth Bryne, Gawyn, Davram Bashere and Rhuarc. All of these deaths in AMOL have one thing in common – they were so clumsily handled that I felt absolutely nothing (other than a mild sense of irritation at the ineptitude of the writer). I really did come to this book ready to weep like a baby, especially following all of Sanderson’s tweets and hints that this is exactly what might happen to readers, but in the event I was barely moved. In particular, the fate of Rand himself felt like a massive let-down. Throughout the WOT, you feel that the series is leading up to his eventual death. Whilst his survival at the end of AMOL is not a problem in and of itself, his entire role in the book is very questionable. After the ‘last debate’ scene, he virtually disappears from the action and instead has a jolly-old philosophical discussion with the Dark One for six hundred pages while his allies are fighting and dying around him. At the end of the book not only does Rand survive, he has the god-like ability to light his pipe with a thought and is pondering which one of the three women who are after him he will end up with! Maybe I’m old-fashioned but I’ve always been uncomfortable with this particular love quadrangle and, even leaving this aside, there seems to be very little that is heroic about Rand’s actions in AMOL. To me, Rand’s survival is also one of several fairly heavy hints that AMOL is by no means an end to the WOT saga.

A lot of people have commented on the lack of resolution to the finale of the WOT. Once the Last Battle is over, AMOL ends rather abruptly. On one level, this might simply be viewed as Sanderson wanting to get things over and done with, presumably tired after having spent the majority of the last five years finishing off the work of another author while having a number of his own projects underway (The Stormlight Archive for example). However, a careful reading reveals that AMOL does a lot to set up the world of the WOT post-Tarmon Gai’don. After the defeat of the Shadow, having taken relatively minor losses, the Seanchan are perfectly placed to conquer – if, that is, they choose to ignore that pesky Dragon’s peace that they signed up to (not a huge barrier, one might think). How will the Aiel adapt to their role as upholders of the Dragon’s peace and, perhaps more pertinently, how will the other nations react to them doing so? Will the Borderlands unite under one banner – that of Lan and Malkier – following their horrendous losses during the Last Battle? Will the White and Black Towers be reconciled? Will the Two Rivers secede from Andor? Despite the deaths I mentioned above, most of the main players are still alive, mostly quite young, and occupy central roles in the world – Rand, Mat, Perrin, Nynaeve, Lan, Thom, Moiraine, Loial, Elayne, Aviendha, Min, Galad etc. Significantly, there is no Harry Potter-style ‘twenty years later’ chapter, showing things neatly wrapped up for all of the remaining characters. To me, all of this points pretty heavily to the fact that the publishers are far from done with milking this particular cash-cow and that further WOT-universe novels are planned. Needless to say, I for one won’t be buying!

So what went wrong? Inevitably – and this is no one’s fault – the death of James Rigney/Robert Jordan hangs heavily over this last book (even more so than it did over The Gathering Storm and Towers of Midnight). To me, this very much feels like Sanderson’s conclusion to the WOT saga rather than Jordan’s. It has not been lost on most people that many of the best scenes/sub-plots in AMOL involve minor characters like Talmanes and, especially, the Asha’man Androl, all of whom were either introduced or given important roles for the first time by Sanderson rather than Jordan. The last two thirds of the book are basically non-stop fighting – another signature of Sanderson’s style. Whilst he is very good at action scenes, the trouble with Sanderson in this respect is that he doesn’t seem to know that you can have too much of a good thing. I personally felt physically (rather than emotionally) drained after reading AMOL because of the relentless battle scenes – at times I felt like I’d been pounded by the One Power myself! Not only did the endless fighting just get boring after a while, it seemed to leave no room for smaller, character-driven scenes. A lot of the deeper themes in the series which Jordan originally introduced – what power does to people, the inevitability of fate, past lives, the dual nature of life and the cosmos – were totally lost in AMOL. Also, annoyingly, Sanderson seemed to either ignore or pay lip service to the many omens, prophecies, visions and viewings peppered throughout the preceding thirteen books. The resolution of these mysteries was one of the things that I was most looking forward to in AMOL but I still am none the wiser about, for example, who exactly ‘The Broken Wolf’ referred to in the Dark prophecy at the end of TOM was. Again, it may be that matters like this will be addressed in the inevitable WOT spin-off series but this seems lazy to say the least.

I’m aware that much of what I’ve said above is quite negative but, like a lot of people, I came to AMOL with expectations that were (perhaps unfairly) sky-high. My investment of time in the WOT over the years has been so great that (to paraphrase Tolkien) Jordan/Sanderson had incurred some pretty substantial narrative debts that I was really expecting to be paid off – with interest! I also came to AMOL with the experience of having read a number of truly great conclusions to some of my other favourite fantasy sagas – The Return of the King, The Deathly Hallows, To Green Angel Tower, Fool’s Fate etc – and was expecting nothing less from the WOT. In the end, although I was in many ways disappointed with what I got, it’s worth saying that I did still feel a definite sense of loss – as if I knew that there was an old friend whom I was never going to see again, at least not in the same way (gulp). Hang on, I think those tears may come after all…
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
A splendid conclusion to the brilliant Wheel of Time series, ably finished by Brandon Sanderson after the unfortunate death of its creator, Robert Jordan. The complexities of the ongoing plot, stretching back over thousands of exciting pages, here find an enthralling and nail-biting climax that carries the reader to an end that is as satisfying as it is unexpected. This is not the book to start the series - but anyone who has read into the Wheel of Time will find this a fitting end to the story of Rand al'Thor, his companions and all those, friend and foe, whom he met on the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse