Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
77
4.7 out of 5 stars
Frostbitten (Otherworld)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 September 2009
Each Women of the Otherworld installment is better than the last. The series now on it's 10th installment is like a pair of comfortable shoes, well loved and adored.
This was a book I picked up at the weekend and had trouble putting down to go to work Monday morning.

Elena Michaels and her lover/husband/mate Clay Danvers are back for this installment, with greater responsiblities (like twins) and more and more pressure put on both of them, their lives have become increasingly far more complex. Jeremy sends them to Alaska on the hunt for a mutt, but as usual things don't quite go according to plan. Jeremy has just informed Elena that she is his pick for the next Alpha of the pack. Couple this with the continuing story of Clay and his arm, and her troubled past making an unwelcome appearance. Add this to some very strange monsters going bump in the night in Alaska, and once again Kelley Armstrong has out done herself.

I'm a huge fan of Kelley Armstrong and this series, however, to get the best of this series I recommend starting with Bitten. I'm now eagerly looking forward to the 11th Book Waking the Witch 08/2010.
22 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
Frostbitten is the tenth book in the Women of the Otherworld series and is a return to Elena, the first and my favourite of Kelley's narrators. The previous book, Living With The Dead was the weakest book in the series by far, and I admit I was a little concerned that this would not live up to the usual expectations of her Elena books. But I needn't of worried. Frostbitten is a great return to form and may well be my second favourite book of the series, behind Bitten the first book.

Elena has been chasing a young mutt attempting to give him a warning, not from the Pack, but about a couple of other mutts. But he's doesn't want to hear it, he believes she intends to kill him. The chase leads her, and Clay her husband/mate/work partner, to Alaska. Once they arrive there though, they realise the scared, young mutt is the very least of their worries. They had been aware of a series of 'wolf' killings, but they hadn't realised just what they would be facing there. There are rouge mutts, former pack mates and some unknown giant beast to contend with, and none of them are happy to see the Pack members around.

I loved this book. The plotting was tight and the pace fast, as Elena and Clay dealt with many problems, old and new, in the form of the other creatures around and personal ones. Both characters have grown a lot since Bitten and it's great to see them back here, just as engaging as ever. There is a good balance here with action and dealing with the more personal problems, which consists of old history and future concerns for Elena and seeing how Clay's dealing with his damaged arm after the events of Broken, not to mention the troubles of parenthood.

There is also the introduction of several new characters I think, and hope, we'll see again. They were a great addition. It was also good to find out what had happened to the Stillwells after they'd left the pack in 'Ascension' a short story I originally read on Kelley's website years ago (and now appears in the collection 'Men of the Otherworld') and had often wondered about.

Overall, a great book with great twists and turns that stopped me putting the book down until it was done. I have two tiny complains, and that was how little we got to see of Kate and Logan, Elena and Clay's twins, and Antonio in particular. Nick too I suppose, though he got a couple good moments towards the end. Still, these are little things and it was still a great book despite them. I'm really looking forward to the Savannah book, Waking the Witch, which is out next year, after this.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
Frostbitten is a nice addition to the Women of the Otherworld series after two not so great books.

In it Elena cements her feelings for Clay by admitting that she missed him whilst he was away, she confronts her past fears head on, and learns that she is strong enough if not quite ready to become Alpha. Clay is as wonderful as ever both protecting Elena and giving her the freedom of her independence. The rest of the pack also make an appearance if only towards the end. We meet two former pack members who fled the pack when Malcolm and Jeremy were fighting to become Alpha as well as the Alpha of the Russian werewolf pack who I hope we see more of in future - I'm curious to see if a proper relationship can be established between the two packs.

As for the story, a group of mutts consisting of Eastern European and American members have decided to settle in Alaska and have been killing off all werewolves on site before they move their very illegal gun-running business over. However the supposed Alpha has a penchant for raping and murdering and can't stop himself from preying on the local girls. As soon as he gets a whiff of Elena he wants her, badly. The rest revolves around rescuing a teenage werewolf called Noah, trying to stay out of the clutches of the rapist and trying to bring down the mutt-pack.

I instantly took a liking to Noah, despite his age and criminal record he was very brave and honorable when he tried to protect Elena from being raped and killed at great risk to himself.

Finally without giving too much away we get a much needed new pack member, an almost pack member and a possible future pack member. Thank goodness for the new young blood! I really didn't want the pack to die out.

Frostbitten was a good read, Elena and Clay are my favourite characters with their children not far behind (I love little Logan!) and I hope to see more of them and the growing pack in future books.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2010
I bought it as a pressie - turned up on time & she loved it - what more can i say ?
n o t h i n g
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
KA is a great storyteller. The women and men of the Otherworld Series are all well rounded and interesting. Throughout the series of books KA has managed to weave a very Armstrong unique fantasy world of werewolves, witches, wizards, demons, vampires, Cabals, the here and now and the 'sometimes' ever after!

In every book until now the reader has been treated to a really strong plot-line, a good solid lead pairing of characters and at least one, and sometimes several sub plots. A key characters in most of the books has been Elena Michaels. A strong lead female who started life as a normal human gal who just got bitten by a werewolf who was in love with her (you know how it is!) and by the time we get to this book, Frostbitten, she's had quite a few hair-raising adventures. Suddenly, well suddenly if like me you've been reading all of KA's Otherworld books, seemingly from out of absolutely nowhere Elena is now ready to assume the role - or is seriously being considered for it anyways - of Pack Alpha.

Now, if you've followed previous books where Elena is the narrator (Bitten,Stolen and Broken) you'll know that she's not exactly the self confident alpha type - except where Clayton Danvers, her mate is concerned... She's NEVER even intimated any desire to lead the pack. She's a physically fit and active gal. Smart and more often than not sassy. But has she ever shown any desire to lead? Nope. In fact, Elena has resented the Pack more than embraced it. She and Clay had too much baggage, a lot of it still there if you read Elena's sub-text to make her in any way a credible figurehead and protector of the werewolf heritage. Jeremy, the Pack Alpha isn't exactly in his dotage either and he's acknowledged as a good, clever and strong leader. So the whole suggestion in the book of Elena becoming Alpha was like a Thunderbolt to me! Wha?!?? Is it something to do with the twins? If so, KA didn't even hint at future reasons. Personally, I hope Elena doesn't become Pack alpha. I love her character, but I love it for it's flaws. The Alpha of this pack needs to be beyond reproach and tougher and smarter than all prospective overthrowers. That's not the Elena I've come to know and admire.

Similarly, the issue of Jeremy sending the Packs only female - indeed the whole werewolf world's only female werewolf who has just very recently gave birth to twins - off on a mutt retrieval jaunt instead of sending Clay, or Antonio and Nick or even Karl Marsten... or even Jeremy himself going. It just seemed so unlikely, so not Jeremy that I was again left bemused. And, when we did get to the chasing and fighting scenes there seemed to be some rehashing of scenes from earlier books - chases through libraries, tying up in log cabins... and the native Indian demons never really took on any substance, if you'll forgive the pun. In fact, as an earlier reviewer noted, this book just lacked 'something'. Substance, seems a good word. Continuity, another. The third, a mix of the two... a supporting appearance by one of the Otherworld non-wolfy characters? Paige? Eve? Hope? Savannah? Lucas?

What there was, though, that gave me hope of future books was the gathering of a few pups that Elena sent back south to Jeremy. The Pack was dangerously small and in danger of dying out. I'm hopeful that this means KA is building up her werewolf Pack and will be back with more because I do think what this book lacked in weight for me is more than compensated for in the overall quality of the whole series... and the series is more than the Pack. I'm also hopeful that her next Otherworld book, should there be one, will bring back Paige Winterbourne a real woman's 100%-woman-shaped witch and Lucas her ever so proper but thoroughly sexy partner back into first person narrative!
55 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
After Living With The Dead, I was starting to get a little worried about the Women of the Otherworld series, but with Frostbitten KA is showing us she has not lost her edge at all. In a move back to her favoured 1st person narrative, and from the perspective of Otherworld favourite Elena, Frostbitten shows what KA does best.

The plot is action packed, with Armstrong manging to balance an butt kicking plot with many intriguing sub-plots. Whilst tracking a rogue Mutt to give him a warning Elena, ends up away from home. Jeremy asks Elena to check out some reported killings in Alaska, and sends Clay to help her. They uncover a group of European Mutts, who are intent in usurping the pack and a battle commences which puts Elena and Clay in terrible danger. We also see how Elena is dealing with Jeremy's decision to name her as Alpha ascending, and how Clay is coping after the incident in Broken that left his right arm near ruined. There are some interesting new characters, and some amazing new supernatural creatures.

The writing is fast paced and kept me hooked, and it was great to see Elena growing as a character, and her relationship with Clay growing too, there are some reminders of Elena's troubled past, and worries for both of their futures, and they need to work through them is Elena is to be alpha, and Clay to be her enforcer.

If there was one complaint, it would be that there wasn't enough Jeremy, but that makes sense given his decision to step down as alpha.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 10 December 2009
I've tried to read all the books in the Otherworld series, but have only really been able to get into the Elena books, so I was really pleased when this came out.

It's a nice catch up with Elena and Clay, their pack and their 3.5yr old twins, and great to see the couple out on an adventure, looking out for, and complementing each other's strengths, but whilst it was fast-paced and enjoyable, it didn't really add anything to the series IMO.

Yes, we've been introduced to a couple of male werewolves who might one day merit their own tales - certainly, at least, the mysterious 'Australian/New Zealander' Reese, but the tale itself I didn't really elaborate on the leads' world.

I'd love to see the twins having their own tale in the future, as it is not certain yet which werewolf traits, if any, either of them have inherited, though both seem to be mini-mes of their parents in temperament. I am also looking forward to the summer 2010 release, the 11th book in the Otherworld series, featuring Savannah as the female lead, and also the antho Tales Of The Otherworld in April 2010, in which we get to learn about Clay and Elena when they were young, Eve and Kristoff and see Paige and Lucas getting married.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
Frostbitten is the eleventh book in Kelley Armstrong's Otherworld series.

The focus of this story is firmly placed on the werewolves - The story starts off simply enough with Elena tracking Reese, a young "mutt", to Alaska. She wants to warn him that he is in danger from a couple of man-eating rogue werewolves. Before she can give him her warning he runs into some local "mutts" that try to maim him.

This combined with news stories of wolf kills around Anchorage raises Elena's suspensions that the local "mutts" might be killing humans and letting the wolf population of Alaska take the blame. As Elena and Clay start to investigate the killings it becomes apparent that nothing is as simple as it seems. In addition to the half-eaten bodies that have been found, three young women have also gone missing and no trace of them has been found. A local werewolf who is a friend of the American pack is also missing... are these events connected or just coincidence? When Elena is attacked by something that looks like a freaky cross between a bear and a wolf it would seem that there are more dangerous creatures in the woods than just wolves and werewolves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2011
Personally, I can't get enough of the Otherworld series and always rush to get my hands on the latest instalment.

Frostbitten is book 10 in the Otherworld series and takes us back to characters we met many moons ago in book 1 (Bitten). Elena (a very rare female werewolf) and her partner Clay are back and investigating the crimes of some rogue werewolves in Alaska. Of all the characters we have been introduced to, Elena is not my favourite character from the Otherworld series but this is an enjoyable book none the less. It's nice to call back in on the pack and see how they have been getting on since the early books. Elena and Clay are now proud parents which add a new element to the story, although the twins are yet to play a big part. I'm waiting for that!

This book focusses on a band of rogue werewolves who are causing problems in Alaska. Elena and Clay are off to investigate but it soon seems that they may have bitten off a bit more than they can chew! A few twists and turns in the story, a few 'hairy' moments, then throw in a dramatic rescue and, hey presto!, you have another great read!

I look forward to the next instalment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2009
As ever Kelley Armstrong weaves a plot that makes it hard to put the book down. In this book we see Elena and Clay heading up the wild northern state of Alaska. Interwoven to the central plot of dealing with rouge werewolves is Elena's fears from the past and the worries that should she become the pack Alpha her relationship with Clay will change. Any woman that has worked in a male dominated environment and been placed in a position of authority will empathise with Elena as she struggles to come to terms with what has been requested to her. Somehow it makes Elena even more real as a character.
The only thing that stops me from giving this book five marks is the rather predictable way the pack of rouge werewolves is dealt with. Yes, there were some surprises in the plot, but I did feel it snaked it's way to an ending that was inevitable.
But don't let that put you off! An enjoyable read, even if you have never read any of the other books in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse