Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews(5 star). See all 114 reviews
on 25 November 2016
First time I had ready any fantasy and was pleasantly surprised really enjoyed it, bought a couple in the series but now prices of kindle books creeping up, not going to pay £9 for a digital book, no shipping or printing costs etc
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Definitely looking forward to the next book, was looking for a good supernatural series to get into and I'm glad I found this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2006
I loved this book! I first read it a couple of months ago and have read it twice again since - it's fun to revisit the characters and the events.

Mercy Thompson is a car mechanic who has a secret - she's a Walker, which means she inherited the ability from her native American father to turn into a coyote. This is unusual, but her neighbours and friends are even more unusual. Stefan is a customer in her repair shop - and he's a vampire. Her next door neighbour is a werewolf. She knows a Russian Witch and also a number of other fae people. The fae have come out into open society but the werewolves, vampires and some others are keeping quiet still, to see how it goes.

Mercy's life is turned upside down by the arrival of a young lad at her garage asking for work. Mac isn't all that he seems - pretty soon Mercy realises he's a brand new werewolf, and with his arrival in her life comes a great deal of trouble. Her next door neighbour, Adam, is seriously injured and Mercy has to rescue him at great personal danger. Mercy has to return to the place where she grew up, amongst werewolves, and there is murder and kidnapping and danger for her as she has to rely on other people to help her.

What's so brilliant about this book is the cast of characters and the way that Patricia Briggs portrays their lives. Yes, people are werewolves but she shows how they fit in to the modern world, how they try to maintain relationships with humans and yet the times when they know they have to keep separate. There's a slow-burn love story between Mercy and a very attractive character (I won't give away who it is!) and also an exploration of what it must be like for Mercy as a weaker shape-shifter than the werewolves around her. Her brush with the head of the vampires is pretty dodgy too.

I'm really looking forward to the next book in this series - if it's as good as this it will be brilliant.
0Comment| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought these early books in the series in pre-kindle days but wanted to have them on my kindle so re bought them. they're a reasonable price. I've lots of books i'd love to have on kindle, i hope the US scheme to let readers but kindle versions at discount comes to UK!! Please Amazon :-) These are all really well writtne novels, full of action and advnture, characters that feel real, danger that feels genuine and capped off with the romnce between Adam and Marcy running through all the books. Definatley one for keepers and re reading - and i've just gone through the whole sereis again, along with the Aspen Creek spinoffs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2006
Mercy Thompson lives next door to a werewolf and fixes cars in her garage for a vampire, she's also not "quite" human herself so when a "new" young werewolf comes to her for casual work she takes him in and lands herself in a lot of trouble, which means returning to the place where she was raised and having to deal with past issues!!
A great story and you won't want to put it down - I hope there is a sequel.
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
mercy thompson is a canny sassy protagonist in her fight to bow to nobody. Orders you can forget, she may take suggestions, but she may not.
Having read the series to date, I can honestly say that this is one fiesty underdog( sorry, undercoyote) that you will keep on rooting for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
I have to express surprise at liking this book as much as I did. I've found most of my forays into traditionally published UF and PNR to be disappointing of late. But I stayed up until ten past three this morning to finish this one. I was simply enjoying it so much I didn't notice night passing. Now, it's not edge of your seat exciting. It's UF, not PNR, so there is no sex and the little bit of romance that there is is in the background. But I simply enjoyed Mercy, Adam, Sam, Warren, and everyone else in a kind of mellow, go with the flow way. I'll definitely be looking to read more of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2011
ive put this series on the sidelines for ages, thinking rather stupidly that i wanted something with a bit more raunch involved. the lack of sex in these books put me off, and im ashamed to say that i let that get in the way.

having finally given these books a go...well....BOY WAS I WRONG! here we have a beautifully written story, focused on people with real relationships, real hang ups and very real attitudes. the main character Mercy is one of the most interesting female characters ive read, very much stealing the crown from the earlier versions of anita blake.

the lack of full on sex scenes actually does this book a favor. ive abandoned many book series now *sigh* due to the content focusing on sex sex and more sex. this book delivers a hell of a punch in the story and characters and also has oodles of sexual tension. reminded me very much of the style of the FEVER series by KM Moning. lots of action, and some real development of relationships that take months rather than days to form. its obvious that alot of thought has gone into the lore of the creatures in this book, and find the subtle traits of each creature making it beleivable that there are whole societies of preternatural creatures exsisting in secret.

already on book 3 after just a few days.

for those that enjoyed the fever series, anita blake (before the insane sex) this is a must. i REALLY hope this auther sticks to her guns and doesnt sell out like so many other authors.

LOVE IT!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse