Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
100
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
In “Bearers of the Black Staff” we join the descendants of those humans, elves and mutants who followed the boy Hawk and gained the safety of the hidden sanctuary before a global apocalypse destroyed what was left of a civilization already devastated by nuclear war.

Hidden safely away behind a formidable foreboding of magic, that community has thrived for five hundred years. But the curtain is failing and those outside the protective barrier have, for the most part, been changed into something else, something feral and altogether different.

The world that is collides with the remnants of the world that was, igniting a spark that could wreak utter ruination once more, unless the only remaining Knight of the Word – Sider Ament – can do something about it...
I really love the way Brooks has maneuvered the pieces on the board in this novel, for here at last we see the true seeds of those civilizations – and magic bearers – who go on to eventually make up the legend that is Shannara.
He does so by way of subtle hints here, gentle pointers there; tiny revelations that pull the threads tighter and tighter, helping you spot how mankind’s – and indeed, every races – greatest enemy managed to avoid annihilation, only to seek further ruination.
Ingeniously clever, Brooks also lays the groundwork for the future by revealing more on the working of magic and the toll it takes on those who wield it, thereby providing a subtle clue of what the bearers of the black staff might go on to become as the two worlds collide.
A most enjoyable sojourn through the mind of one of Fantasy’s best writers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Terry has some think about him when he writes a book its as if he is living in book it self so you get on.e he'll of a read. It makes you want to read the next one in the story line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
Prompt delivery. Clear easy to read text. Reasonably priced. Mysterious cover as usual! I enjoy every book in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
this book was for my father's birthday. A great gift for a bookworm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Good to see Terry Brooks back to the original genre MORE PLEASE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Some oneelse
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
Terry Brooks takes you on a journey to another dimension and exercises your mind. A good simple read you can take on holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
I have read almost every book Terry Brooks has written since I got hooked 20 years ago. I have been looking forward to this new instalment of the saga for a while, but I have to say I am rather disappointed. It is certainly not one of Terry's best and definitely not on par with the early works. The characters are not very engaging and I never felt any empathy with them. Two of the characters end up dead by the end of what is quite a short book (the text is in quite large print) and I never felt I got to know them, let alone care. Most of the 'plot twists' are so obvious that I could see them coming for pages and was almost relieved when they were finally revealed. The bottom line is that not much actually happens in this book, with an excessive amount of time is spent describing the journeys of the characters between one place and another, including the weather which always seems the same (misty and/or raining). As this appears to be the first of a two-book series it doesn't leave much scope for character development in the second half half of the story, which tends to indicate that this, too, will be a disappointment.
I know that many readers consider Terry Brooks to be at the simpler end of the fantasy genre, but that generally makes his books an easy and pleasurable read. In this case, however, he seems to have been rather lazy and too simplistic, producing a book that lacks depth and thought and never engages the reader. If the next book is on the same level it should not take too long to write and we can hope that subsequent series will return to the quality that fans expect.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
I thought the book was absolutely brilliant, hence the title, and I think, in my humble opinion, that it was one of Terry's best ever books, although there are so many wonderful books to choose between. I thought the way he tied the Genesis series, via this instalment, towards the start of the main Shannara books was extremely clever. We now know the fate of Cat and Panther or do we ? Loads of new, complex and interesting characters (goodies and baddies).

No spoilers here and I cannot wait for the next instalment.

Rest assured, if you like this genre, you will absolutely adore this book.

Big plus to Amazon, I received the book two days earlier than I expected it, so a huge bonus.

Regards.

Paul
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
firstly i must make it clear i have read every book in the shannara catologue and have either loved them or liked them ,so i am one of the converted.but this book reeks of how can i make some more money and eak out the shannara series.i thought the last books tied up all the other stories quite nicely.but this one just dosent do it.its supposed to be set hundreds of years before the sword of shannara but every one seems just as advanced as latter storys ,so no evolution during that period then.also just a personal feeling .the elves are so ordinary ,wheres the mystique.i half expected them to be walking round in hoodys.this book just plods trough with far too much depth put into every character,which i feel is just a filler so he can tack on that extra volume,there is nothing new in this book and i personally couldnt wait to finish it.sorry all this book has done is spoil a great series,please dont write any more shannaras terry,put your great story telling into something new.i must reiterate this i loved all the other books but this is just one too far
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse