Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
16
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2013
Exiles is a little tough going at first, as there are lots of characters and most of them are aliens, which makes them a little difficult to empathise with. This makes the first book a slow burner, but definitely worthwhile and the more rewarding once you're into it.

Unlike the Uplift books the Exiles books are one long story, which makes it feel a lot more epic in scope. It connects back to the Uplift stories, but I won't give anything away by saying how.

I recommend it strongly, especially if you liked Uplift.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
This is not a new trilogy, it's a kindle binding of the Second Uplift Trilogy with all three books in one handy volume. Here's a review I wrote for the paperback version of the first book, Brightness Reef, back in 2009.

The second Uplift trilogy, or the Jijoian Trilogy is set in a universe where species are raised to sentience by a Patron race, to whom they then owe one hundred thousand years of servitude as a thank you. Humanity, having already raised Chimps and Dolphins to sentience stumble out into the galaxy at large without a patron race, making them rare "wolflings" generally doomed for extinction lacking protection in what is often a dangerous and violent galactic society.

The majority of the trilogy is set on a Sooner colony called Jijo, where half a dozen outcast races live together striving to return to "blessed presentience" avoiding larger galactic society. The story follows this colony as the wider universe comes crashing in.

I tremendously enjoyed these books, they're well written with a wide range of characters. The galactic society is startling different from most simple Utopian or "mankind stands alone" situations often found in fiction. Groups centered on uplift clans or religious beliefs fight wars within the constraints of stability within the larger society. The differences between the collective cultures of the mixed races of Jijo and the interactions of the parent races out in the Five Galaxies form a large part of the subtext. Both the overarching plot and the development of each character is handled well and Brin doesn't leave minor loose ends dangling at the end of the tale. He has left himself with a few hooks for another series if he wants it though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
I think David Brin is very good at creating aliens. I enjoyed his Uplift Omnibus Book One, but so far am finding this sequel quite hard going. However, I am hanging on as he has a knack of pulling the threads together and producing an unsuspected finale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Actually a trilogy rather than the previous 3 uplift books which are 3 separate stories around the same universe and timescale. Some mysteries are addressed from the previous books, which is satisfying, and it's a bit less preachy on the eco front. As always Mr Brin gives us very well developed concepts and believable alien characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
It took a whole book and a half just to set the scene for the second trilogy - good ideas but I almost gave up - still ploughing through the second volume of trilogy book 2 - not sure if I will sustain the interest to finish it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
I bought this trilogy after reading (and liking) The Uplift Trilogy. Mistake. The first book is very boring and slow. Description and history of Jijo and the six races without any narrative thread. Actually, all that "happens" in that book could be written in one chapter. It is an interesting and imaginative work but very often you will feel like stop reading. The second book is better, not up to the level of the previous trilogy, but very similar and easy to read. The third is just AWFUL. Not only is slow and boring is also PREPOSTEROUS, taking about physics, metaphysics, maths, science using meaningful but grandiloquent words that put together in the same sentence became utter NONSENSE. In this case, if you are a science fiction reader or have some knowledge of maths and physics you will not only feel like stop reading, but also to burn it. I barely manage to finish it.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Really enjoyed this omnibus until towards the end of the last book. I felt the ending was slightly anti climatic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
well written with lots of original ideas and quite well drawn characters. Some times confusing when the plot jumped from one character's experiences to another's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
David Brin's story presented in the Exiles has perhaps grown too big in his own mind, and he seems to struggle with grasping the story in its entirety and presenting it in entertaining, concise way.

He is prone to huge generalisations, and his ideas, although interesting, lack depth, contrast and detail. Overall the book (and the others from Uplift series preceding it) seem too childish and naive for the audience they are targeting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Only read if you are open minded and willing to except the fantastic, I found this a great read, lots of twists and turns with outlandish concepts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.