Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
106
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2017
Fantastic book and well written.
As a big fan of the Halo franchise, I really enjoyed learning about the Masterchief as a child and growing up to turn into a powerful killing machine!
If you are a Halo fanatic like myself and you want to learn more about the back stories of the halo universe, this book is a must!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
I absolutely adore this book. It basically sets the law for all the other books to base themselves on. If you're going to start reading the books definitely start with this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2004
This is an EXCELLENT read for those of us who want to learn a little more about the universe of HALO. I particualy liked the way the other Spartans are introduced, as well as the first chapter which explains a little more about 'The Fall of Reach'. However I won't give away anything else about the book as it truly is one of the best I have ever read. I recommend this book whole-heartedly to anyone, but the people who would enjoy it the most are: Fans of HALO and/or people who enjoy reading military based books such as the Tom Clancy series.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2004
Well, what more needs to be said, other than excellent!
A well written and satisfying book. And also frustrating!- It's a few months till the next game comes out and I have to wait till then to find out what happens!
The story is well above the level of most tie-in books and I would recommend it as such to any non-gamers out there, too. It links the events of the first game and the new one very well indeed.
One of the strengths of the books is the depiction of the "ordinary" soldiers and their reaction to the Spartan super soldiers, as well as their feelings and motivations.
Overall it's recommended to anyone, except those after pure gung-ho guns and action with no story - this covers all the bases. A crowd pleaser, all round.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2005
Computer game tie-ins are generally not well thought of by book readers, and quite often this is justified. Not so, however, with the Fall of Reach. It's obviously not just been written to capitalise on the success of the games, and has been written in conjunction with the game writers. As such, the book takes the depth of the Halo story and builds upon it to create a rich and immersive world. Halo: The Fall of Reach is a prequel to Halo, and gives us details of how the Master Chief and the others came to be Spartans, the appearance of the fanatical Covenant, the fall of the human fortress world Reach and the escape of the Pillar of Autumn to Halo.
There are one or two let-downs. Nothing has to do with the story, more with the editing. Parts of the text seem to have been copied and pasted into random places, and various words seem to become confused, as if an object has been named one thing, that name has been forgotten and replaced with something else.
These flaws are minor, and do not detract from the story at all. If you're a fan of the game, or even if you're not, this book provides depth and detail to the Halo universe that is hard to put down, and harder still to dislike.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2006
I loved every page of this book, the very beginning of the book is brilliant but it did start to get slow once it got into the Spartan 117's training.

Other than that myself and all my friends, who I've let borrow the book, have all given it a thumbs up and it's suggested this book is given to anyone you know who like Halo and like to read.

5 out of 5 (Eric Nylund, I salute you!)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2004
This book is amazing. Truly. Not just because its bridging the gap between the Halo games for us fans but because its got everything you need. Mystery, suspense, clifhangers, jaw-dropping action, surprises and of course a well constructed story that is perfect from start to finish. I don't want to ruin it for anyone, but for all you Halo fans out there theres some stuff in there that will make you think of the Halo saga differently and make change what you anticipate in Halo 2. Don't sit there reading this! Buy it! Then buy the other two. You won't regret it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2004
Eric Nylund successfully follows up on the great story telling from the Fall of Reach (and to almost the same extent, The Flood, which doesn't quite have the same edge) with this frankly excellent book that brings a much loved sci-fi universe to life as much as the gaming experience has for millions of xbox owners everywhere. I finished this the same day I got it - it had me hooked from the first page. New characters are introduced, as are old friends and one or two surprises that will draw you in even more...
If you have the first two, get this. If you haven't got the first two, get ALL THREE - you won't regret it...
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2005
The best one of the three. Eric Nylund returns with his writing expertise to give us the 3rd in the series. It is brilliant it tells us how SGT Johnson survived, how masterchief got back to earth, and what mystery lies under Reach's surface.
Eric also gets us back into the place when you think you're actually there. Full marks to one of the best stories I have ever read. I only hope they make one based on halo 2.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 July 2007
Books based on games are always a gamble, but with the rich plot of the Halo games and the efforts Bungie have made to create a detailed universe I decided to give the books a chance. I have to admit that I am surprised by the quality.

The Fall of Reach covers the events leading up to the first Halo game. It details the creation of the SPARTAN-II soldiers, the Master Chief's background, the beginnings of the Human-Covenant war, and also backstory on some of the periphery characters in the game, such as Captain Keyes.

The book moves at a rapid pace so covers a lot of ground. Nylund's style is a little too excitable and he could maybe flesh his characters out a little more, but he writes action well and considering the subject matter it is a well thought out novel.

Frankly, it could all be very silly but what you end up with is a gritty and mostly credible tale set within the Halo universe. If you have enjoyed the Halo games, give The Fall of Reach and the other books in the series a go.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse