Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2007
I cannot find Sci fi of the quality of A C Clarkes future predicting uncanniness much anymore. There are some that stop you and say " this is what its going to be like" but not many. This is one. Sometimes I felt the chronology was out of kilter but that may just have been me. A stunningly good read. Thanks you Mr Stross
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2006
This book was suggested by a friend who had a great deal of praise for it, so I took a copy on holiday. Sat in the sun with all my attention it just did not capture my imagination. There are some great ideas here, but I found it to be indigestible. One of those books that runs rich in its own language and if it doesn't reel you in you just feel like your wading through treacle. I have not tried any of Stross' other material, but this has put me off. Others think it is good, so do give it a go. Just not one for me I fear.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2016
I tried and tried but couldn't get into it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
By far, onr of the best sci-fi books I have ever read.
Mr Stross has the ability to dream and write fictions that many belive will never happen.
The beauty however of these fictions is that they are tantalisingly close.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2009
Great start, fantastic range of ideas and thoughts. Some really interesting stuff about the future of information management that you could see happening, or you'd like to see happen. It's a good read too, so you get about 2/3rds in on the crest of a wave. Then it vanishes up it's own backside a bit and lacks the killer finish. It fizzles. But worth reading for what he does in the early stages. Setting up a virtual avatar to go away and work out - in an accelerated time frame - whether a date and subsequent relationship would work out. Cool :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2007
Excellent SF of ideas but somehow unsatisfying at an emotional level - its difficult to care about the characters who are the usual breed of techy entrepreneurs, and uber-confident SF females that populate the thoughts of SF writers....the singularity stuff was interesting, overall though this simply doesnt provide enough narrative or character engagement to make you want to see it through. It also falls into the trap of presenting every character as a leading techno-philosopher, so in love with the possibilities of technology that their humanity doesnt come through
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
As Protorp says in his excellent review "Breathtakingly powerful, though not for the faint-hearted" this book is scattered throughout with references to sci-fi books and films, plus various wacky physics concepts, so its definitely not an introductory book to SF and those who haven't a good background would be advised to start elsewhere and come back in five or ten years.

But for those who do have that background, its top-notch hard core SF in a Neal Stephenson snow crash kind of way but ramping the extrapolation way past 11.

And without spoiling the plot, I'd love to have a book on what the cat did next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2009
The books starts of a little slow and then just does not stop. Ideas and concepts, (lots that I had never heard of) are thrown out there and used to great effect, that keeps this story moving.

For several hours of entertainment, which will also make you stop and think this is a good book to pick up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
For me, unattractive characters over-concerned with legal deals and sharp practice with little appreciation of the economic environment likely to apply around the singularity. Showed off with strange and convoluted references and allusions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
I'm a Charles Stross fan, but this book irritated me a lot. Characters that are simultaneously two-dimensional and richly dislikable (quite an achievement, really): and plot/premise pretentious and smug enough for William Gibson himself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.63
£13.48
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here