Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
46
3.7 out of 5 stars
Singularity Sky
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 November 2008
Loved this book (and Iron Sunrise). Definitely the most imaginative and exciting writer around at the moment. Lacks a little polish, maybe too prolific, still gets 5 stars for being so darn interesting/exciting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
I initially bought the 2007 reprint of the paperback, when I got to page 250 there were 50 pages of reprint (page 91-139) in place of 251-299 which was really annoying because its a very good book.

Amazon's great customer service have replaced the book.

The book itself is an excellent debut from an exciting new author. I would give it 4 stars, but the inconvenience of having to wait has knocked off a star.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2016
Very slow - a good story but can skip large chunks of bizarreness whilst still appreciating the central plot AND concepts. Death to the critics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
A good one, before the author went down some different paths, tried different things. This is more straight, hard space opera sci-fi goodness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Absolutely rubbish compare to Saturn's Children...seems written by a different author. It happens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2010
I don't know why, but when I first bought this and tried to read it a few years ago, it and I didn't get on at all well. I left it unfinished. Now that I've re-visited it though, I enjoyed every minute of it, with one small exception. It's great space opera, there's comedy mixed in, and if some of the characters are just a little one-dimensional - well that's what makes the comedy work. That small exception? The end. It just peters out with no real ending at all. Overall though, it's recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2005
This is a tremendously enjoyable novel. Stross is one of the new big things in SF - his short stories have been winning rave reviews for ages but this is his first published novel and it has been worth the wait.
Nothing I've read recently has had quite the same energy - it can be a little rough around the edges (the sequel Iron Sunrise is a slightly more accomplished piece of writing) but that's more than compensated for by the humour and pace. From the opening, the simultaneously jaw-dropping and amusing introduction of the Festival to the last page this had me hooked.
For me Stross is already up there with those other Scottish masters of new space opera Banks and MacLeod.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
Great book, received in good condition.
I like this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2016
Clever and well written book with engaging characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
Astounding Book. Loved it book one of two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here