Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
27
4.1 out of 5 stars
In Your Dreams
Format: Paperback|Change


on 30 December 2005
This follow up from Tom's hilarious book 'the portable door' was a bit of a let down for me. I enjoyed, as i always do, his style of writting and the way his books are easy to read. But i was expecting splitting humour rather than an easy read. It is a good follow up however and i would recommend reading on.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Difficult one this, it was ... ok, just not as good as the previous two in this series. As yet, I haven't bought the 4th in the series, maybe that says more about it than anything else. Love Mr Holt's writing and ideas though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2004
This book along with "The Portable Door" seem to be a new direction for Holt.
The books contain far more standard fantasy than previously, with a romantic angle etc. and far less jokes.
There are a number of good puns and a few funny situations but it certainly lacks the energy and unrelenting laughs of his earlier books like "Ye Gods".
It is an OK read, but falls between two stools
As fantasy the plot is a bit circular and incoherent at times
as humor it lacks an real big laughs
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2006
Follow on from Portable Door. Not a bad book. You do starting thinking "but it's obvious you fool". A little to much focus on the character's internal dialog rather than what's happening in the work place round him. Certainly doesn't seem to get over the reluctant hero complex early enough in the story, although that seems to stem from the characters lazyness. Still you start liking him is spite of that. Interesting world but not explored enough really. Good but had potential to be better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
I really enjoyed this book. Great pace and fun plot twists. Looking forward to the next instalment. Never quite worked out the bicycle though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
Another excellent book by Tom Holt. This was bought by my sister when she borrowed my kindle- would definitely have bought it myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Another great read from Tom Holt with his highly individual and funny train of thought evident throughout. I enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2006
Slowish start to get new readers upto speed, but a more complex and exciting read than its predessor The Portable Door.
Actually having read 75% of Holts books - I'd say this was his best, couldn't put it down.
Now how do you follow that?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 June 2004
Having felt disappointed with the Valhalla by Tom Holt I wasnt looking forward to reading this novel and as such put it off towards the end of my reading list, however, this is something that you definetly must not do, I repeat dont put off reading this novel.
The tale whilst revisting characters from Portable Door, didnt leave the reader feeling that they had missed anything and as such could jump straight into a twisted look at our world mixed with the elements of the fey. This left me wondering how the two would blend and led to plenty of conflicts with each faction doing the best for thier own side. Add to the mix well rounded characters (some more than others in the case of Mr Tanners Mum, lol) and you have a cast of characters around which anything can, will and probably may happen. This is a little gem of a title and as such has reknewed my faith in this authors work. Many bill him as the "poor mans Terry Pratchett", I don't. After the sheer joy of reading this novel Tom Holt has built himself up to stand on the shoulders of Mr Suslowicz (as Newton would have said, although to be fair he is a small giant. lol)
Definetely pick this up, the humour, the technicolour into which the world is built and the sheer eccentricity to which the characters are capable will turn many a person into a fan of this author.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
I loved this book a fantastic read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse