Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
45
4.2 out of 5 stars
Trading In Danger: Vatta's War: Book One
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 October 2014
This series is pretty typical of military SF. Simplistic Good guys vs Bad guys, where the military are all good guys and the bad guys are politicians or space pirates (really).

The series is also pretty devoid of any interesting SF ideas, I didn't find the bit of technology central to the story convincing, and if you will forgive the slight exaggeration, any story that relies on geniuses inventing a whole new technology with some string and chewing gum in an afternoon looses my respect pretty fast.

As you have probably gathered, this is not the sort of stuff that usually excites me, however the author writes well, the main characters are quite engaging despite being cliches, and there are some interesting combat ranging from one to one to space battles.

However, I bought all 5 in the series so even with all the negatives I still found it an enjoyable light read.
A very expensive enjoyable light read because each book is more like an episode of a series rather than a complete book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Enough to go straight to Book 2 ... and the rest of the series. This one sets the scene for the 'war' and gives us a chance to know the various characters. Some good twists and turns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Well read complete from the original book. Got this for long journeys and when waiting to pick up grand kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Excellent read, but I wouldn't expect anything else from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Looking forward to reading the next book detailing Kylaras adventures.
The story is well paced and gives detail where necessary but not overly long in description.
It's a must read for any science fiction fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
a very good read i found hard to put down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Had read other books by Elizabeth Moon and was surprised to find this series. Once started reading very hard to put down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2011
I discovered Elizabeth Moon through her excellent stand-alone science-fiction novel, Speed of Dark last year and decided to investigate some of the series she'd written.

Trading in Danger is the first book in Moon's Vatt's War series. Described as military science fiction, we follow the story of Kylara (Ky) Vatta who has chosen a military career over the safer option of the family business. But she's forced to resign from the military academy after her innocent attempt to help a fellow student results in a PR storm which threatens to disgrace the academy.

Her father sends Ky off to a distant part of civilised space as Captain of one of the oldest ships in the family fleet on what should be a safe and routine trading trip. But things don't quite go according to plan and soon Ky must draw on all her military training to ensure she and her crew survive.

After a rather slow start (70 pages in it was still all trade and no danger) I enjoyed this story. I'm still not sure what I think of the military science fiction sub genre. I missed the world-building that I enjoy in other science fiction novels; Ky's universe felt like ours just with more space ships. But the characters were good and once it got going I was gripped by the storyline.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse