Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
The Ultimate Jack the Ripper Sourcebook: An Illustrated Encyclopedia
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 July 2017
At a glance this is going to be a long haul. very long book having read many books on the Ripper I will need a little time deciding whether I gain any thing from this book . This book covers other murders that could be Jacks work. and the opening pages start with the many murders committed at that time. skipping through it yes all the murders are there . many pictures are the same. This is a bible type book for the real hard time readers of the Ripper, to them yes you will find it full of details letters juries police statements ect . I don`t think you will find out who Jack is. that's not the point .all the information possible to have is I suppose in this book. I have yet to find out will this just be another book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 September 2016
Everything you need ( or want !) to know about the Victorian murderer. A well produced and almost definitive guide to the horrors that took place in 1888. Essential reading for those fascinated by the case and period - and filled with good illustrations too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2018
This book tells you everything you need to learn about Jack The Ripper, except of course, who he was. A marvellous encyclopaedia of the time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2015
Truly wonderful book. Full of useful information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2015
Great!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2013
this is more of a reference book, does not tell you anything that you haven't read or heard of before but is still interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2013
There are only so many times that you can read about special allowance being paid for extra police before you come to the decision that it's just to make the book look bigger. I must have read about a hundred or more times correspondence about special allowance. Seriously is there a need to keep including every one? Towards the end it was annoying me, I skipped page after page due to it.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2012
Having looked at previous works, I bought this account 5 yrs ago. It's straightforward approach, its truly gruesome inquest accounts, leaving NOTHING out, makes this, for me, the most informative account of them all.

You read of witness descriptions of the killer and notice a difference.

You read of doctors confirming the surgical ability of the killer, as other docs at the inquest say otherwise.

You learn of the now infamous letter, the piece of leather apron and the search at London docks.

You also learn that the Victorian police did their very best to end the slaughter.

It also contains gruesome photos from the files, which add faces to the victims.

For all those interested in Jack the Ripper, this is a must.

I should perhaps add this note of caution.

A strong stomach is required.

I would like to thank the authors for their diligence and painstaking research. A truly remarkable achievement...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 February 2004
Packed full of details, facts, evidence, original material etc etc. This is not a murder mystery novel and if treated as such will bore the pants off King and Grisham. Here is a textbook and an excellent reference book, must be read with Philip Sugden's Complete History of Jack the Ripper for an indepth understanding on the workings of Jack the Ripper.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2012
This book is what it claims to be, the ultimate sourcebook on its subject. All the primary research documents known to researchers are transcribed, so as to enable those seeking accurate information to access, where possible, primary source material. It is intended as a research tool and is an indispensable one for any serious student of the Whitechapel Murders. It is not, however, (and is not intended to be)an easy-to-read historical account.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here