Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2017
Great, relaxing reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
I come from a maths background, and this book brings back all the reasons for studying the subject in the first place. If you are currently reading maths at university and feel a little demotivated, have this on your book shelf to dip into from time to time. Even masters of their subject struggle to understand the material, and if you work in an area requiring problem solving you can take heart from some of the insights. This book is very open to anyone, maths background or not, and the material is very well presented. To give an example: there is one page of the actual proof shown in the book, and it's not really easy to understand. So to present an entire book on this complex subject is an amazing achievement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
This is an excellent book as many others testify. However, in the Kindle version, the many formulae in the text are so tiny as to be illegible. They seem to be images, not fonts, so they cannot be enlarged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Could not put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
An interesting read, as always by Simon Singh. I would have liked a little more of an insight about how they went about solving Fermat's Last Theorem, as the first third of the book seems to go off on unnecessary tangents about other maths problems, which I feel doesn't really fit. Still a good read though, don't let this put you off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
This was a really good read. It flows well and provides a good background surrounding mathematics and its geniuses throughout history. I learnt a lot but none of it was too detailed or sophisticated. If I'm honest I was expecting a bit more skullduggery from the staid world of professors (you know, stealing his work and pretending you did it, that kinda thing) but alas, it was not to be. That's probably why it has not been a Hollywood movie in contrast to something like A Beautiful Mind. Still, an interesting story which was well worth the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
This is wonderful writing, easy, light and connecting the cast topic of mathematics beautifully. I must say this has the essence of suspense like thriller plot yet being scientific. Great job Simon Singh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2017
Excellent read. Really is quite a thrilling journey, well written, well paced and poignant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2017
Bought as a gift, recipient very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
You need some grasp of maths (say to A level to appreciate this book. An excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)