Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 August 2016
A secret santa gift for a Chap.
Went down so well (but fear he already lives by this manifesto and it just justifies his behaviours - LOL)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Awesome beyond belief!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Perfect condition - would never have guessed it was second hand. Good for a laugh - was for a Christmas present and went down a treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If, like me, you have a secret hankering everytime you watch "Jeeves and Wooster" to don an immaculate jacket and stroll out into London society, doffing your hat to all and knowing there's nothing so splendid as as true British gentleman, then this one's for you.
Messrs Temple and Darkwood have surpassed themselves with this triumph of modern foppery over the walkman, and the brogue over the Reebok. Articles on what to wear and why, what to carry with you (nail scissors for that immaculate manicure and for cutting the wires of passing walkman users), and even the best way for a lady (or "Chapette") to grow her moustache. A subect not covered enough in my opinion.
Buy, it, read it, follow its advice. It will stand you in good stead next time you happen to find yourself abroad when you dazzle the poor foreigners with your wit, style and advanced use of the hat in polite conversation.
22 Comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2002
If, like myself, you find yourself in a state of despair concerning the ill-mannered antics of the polyester clad vulgaroisie that are erroding the moral fabric of polite society, then take the first step. Join the Charmed Uprising.
A revolution is upon us my dear comrades. A tweed revolution.
To partake in this glorious uprising, the aspiring chappist must first learn and embrace the basic tennets of good manners, proper ettiquette and sartorial correctness. This inspired book will assist you in your quest. And ladies fear not. There is also a small section entitled 'chappism for the ladies'. The CAD are nothing if not egalitarian.
Learn the semiotics of smoking, trouser semaphore and the subtle art of wooing the ladies. Discover the joys of loafing for it is your duty to uphold the shirk ethic!
This is indispensible agit-fop for the militant agent-raconteur. Join the cult of couth and purchase this fine manifesto before we are all buried under a festering mountain of 'sportswear' and mobile telephones.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2016
Wry and amusing, engenders a nod and smile from a latter day Chap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2008
To be read out loud in a clipped eloquent English voice. The funniest book I have ever read. It has considerable merit. Written throughout in precise, subtle English, this book WILL gain greater popularity, as all truly commendable books do. Unlike the 3 sequel books by Temple and Dashwood this is consistently funny and has few weak moments. To be re-read and savoured.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2004
About time too, join the charmed uprising to bring back elegance and decadence to the modern world. Learn how to use trouser semaphore, the importance of proper grooming and how to live the elegant life. A vital accessory for any Anarcho-Dandy seeking to live life to its fullest extent.
Collected from the magazines.
Very amusing and a vital antidote to how we live now.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2001
Most young men these days need to pull themselves up by their boot straps and stop mooching about in training plimsolls and jewellery, which frankly, makes them look like girls on their way to gym class. My father would have had my guts for garters if I'd wandered around town with unkempt hair and my shirt hanging out. Put a stop to this communist behaviour and take a leaf out of these chaps book. Whether your unsure about smoking properly or on how to talk to a woman about the material her dress might be made of, this book could well put you back on the straight and narrow. It might even give you a few ideas on giving Jerry the slip. Don't be a b****y fool and do yourself a favour man. For Gods sake.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Bought this a gift for my partner and he loved it, a must for any chap or wannabe chap.... recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse