Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
84
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2010
This book is refreshingly different from any other book I have read about music. It is also beautifully written and VERY thoroughly researched. It is not a book to be read in a hurry. Luckily, it is divided into small sections each of which can be read as a satisfying chunk in its own right. What it reveals about the politics, personalities and evolution of music in the 20th century is astounding. Whether you like certain types of modern music ("classical", jazz, pop or unclassifiable)or not you will end up understanding how they were all derived and the direction in which they may each be going.

I have listened to and played music for over 50 years and found that this book has added enormously to my understanding and appreciation of the music I have loved and the music I have tended to avoid. It's almost a religious experience.

Thank you Alex Ross

Sincerely

JCPB
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
it's an excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Just as required
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2010
Book was delivered quickly and as described. Haven't finished reading it yet but so far so good. Accompanying website is also very impressive, following the book with audio resources and additional information chapter by chapter. Fab for anyone with an interest in 20th century music or in fact any kind of music. It is much more than an analytical explanation of the music as it covers art and cultural context as well as a personal insight into the lives of the composers.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
fantastic book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 April 2009
An excellent end of year book for the review of the whole of modern and classical music in the 20th century.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
This is a massive area, of course, and a massive book. For most readers, slimmer volumes will get you to the same place.

As regards editing, I feel that the book is unclear about who the reader is. For example, 'atonality' is discussed early on, without saying what it is (are we supposed to know?). Later - p55 - we get a rather poor explanation. For such things as this, the book is crying out for a website - not for excerpts from existing compositions, but for some simple examples of intervals, harmonies... played on piano.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
Everything OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Great book but arrived with the back cover and some pages folded and dirty. It seemed like something had stepped on it. It's a small defect but visible. Just didn't returned it because it was a Christmas gift and there wasn't the time to get a new. The other books on the package were in perfect conditions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
I thought it could be difficult, but Alex Ross achieved to make it easy......the stories are amazing, the rithm of the book is fantastic. The best: how he contextualizes every music movement, every compositor. Thanks to the gossip too! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)