Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 18 October 2017
Was pleased to receive the book and really enjoyed reading it again. Unfortunatly I lent my copy to someone and never got it back again. This 2nd hand copy was a bit old and grubby, sticky bits on it too but once I got over that I was happy with the purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2017
4 my son
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Dull
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Bought as a present and recipient is enjoying the story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2017
Nigel Slaters boyhood story gave me a real insight what makes one of my favourite cooks tick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
lovely to have Nigel Slater's voice in my head as i read this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
This book is an excellent collection of memories bound together by food. With each section relating to a specific childhood food, the memories each item evokes paints a chronological picture of a young boy growing up in the sixties.

Each passage is short, but that means it's ideally suited for the kindle which breaks each story or recollection into a new screen refresh. However, the print edition runs them on, so that pages can be broken or disjointed and it makes a real difference.

The quality of the writing is excellent, and the story is well framed and you get a sense of place and purpose, and is great in bite sized pieces, but the references to food to get to a point in the story sometimes feel a little forced.

Overall a brilliant read, but perhaps best enjoyed in small courses!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2004
I laughed at every single page in the opening chapters. The descriptions of growing up in Middle England, with its associated food snobberies are ruthlessly accurate. Perhaps that's why so many of us 30-somethings are obsessed with the latest food innovations - we are desperate to obliterate memories of childhood salads of ham, boiled egg and lettuce leaf.
However, Slater is also tender in his descriptions of his mother and her struggles with her health, and remarkably honest about his relationship with his step mother. Having always admired his food writing, his honesty and directness shine through here, too. But be warned - you may never want to eat in a provincial hotel dining room again, EU regulations or no!
A remarkable tale of growing up from a remarkable personality.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
My other review for the DVD of this book said that I haven't a clue if the film is good or not, and that remains true for the book too. My wife's (ex husbands) sister in law -the owner of this book being reviewed- has enjoyed the read, and the DVD. I thought Nigel Slater starred in The Young One's with Rick Mayal and co.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
It is one thing to write cookery books and a cookery column in The Observer and another to lay bare your childhood and upbringing for everyone to see. Most people would gloss over the parts of their life they don't want to confront, especially if the episodes do not show them in a very good light. It is also hard to relate that life without the effect of hindsight and the adult view of the events related.

Nigel Slater gives us his child's, and then his teenage view of his life, exactly as it must have been then, without the adult interpretation. This gives it an immediacy which is very poignant and moving. Children are self-centred and to some extent, selfish, and it is a very believable take on a child's-eye view of the world. He is unsentimental and his humour is sometimes cruel but throughout, his anger and loneliness palpable and penetrating. While we may look at his world, we are not asked to pity him.

Each nostalgic episode is given an item of food from the sixties and the story of his life is recounted as separate incidents, not in sequence.

We learn about his family, the odd uncle and aunt, his brother and adopted brother, his father's job, his mother's illness - all snippets related as they affect the infant Slater with vivid reality in a few lines of spare prose.

"It was a pity we had Aunt Fanny living with us. Her incontinence could take the edge off the smell of a chicken curry, let alone a baking cake. No matter how many orange-and-clove pomanders my mother had made, there was always the faintest whiff of Aunt Fanny."

We can see the lack of love in his life after his mother dies and can probably see that he is, indeed, a difficult child and he doesn't seek to present himself to us as anything else. His need for love is shown by his hidden desire for a goodnight hug in bed from his father, who is only to be able to manage chocolate marshmallows in substitution.

He certainly equates food with happiness - his description of Sundays making crab sandwiches after the jolly father/son experience of shelling the crab was a classic. And then, the simple phrase 'After Mum died, we never had crab again...'

Yet he was, in part, frightened of his father. "You wouldn't think a man who smoked sweet, scented tobacco, grew pink begonias and made softly-softly trifle could be scary....Once when I had been caught not brushing my teeth... his glare was so full of fire, his face so red and bloated, his hand raised so high that I pissed in my pyjamas, right there on the landing...For all his soft shirts and cuddles and trifles I was absolutely terrified of him."

As a child he was very difficult with eating, but yet he was discerning and appears to appreciate good food when it came his way, with a sophistication of taste and texture remarkable for a small boy. He was fascinated by Marguerite Patten's cookery book and used to read it by turns with Portnoy's Complaint behind the bookcase.

I found his complete recall of the `new' fast foods being presented in the 60's, fascinating. The fiasco with the grilled grapefruit, "I just thought how cool I was to have eaten grilled grapefruit. I boasted about it to everyone at school the next day in much the same way as someone might boast about getting their first shag."

Throughout the book runs the understated love for his mother and uneasy feelings about his father's new relationship with the cleaning lady, Mrs Potter.
"She was sitting there in one of the garden chairs, tight lips, tight perm, twenty Embassy and a cigarette lighter in her lap. 'Say hello to your Auntie Joan', my father said, enunciating her new name, quietly and firmly."

The culinary theme would not be enough to hold the interest and as an autobiography it must stand in its own right. There are no important people in Nigel Slater's story, no references of great significance and his portrait of middle class life is not affectionate. But he evokes time, people and place with such clarity and spare prose, with every episode linked to a precise memory, written in a vivid and energetic style. The people are just 'nobodies', and indeed, nobody would probably every want to write about them. Yet he makes them live their very ordinary lives under our microscope. That is why I think this autobiography is a fascinating read.
11 Comment| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse