Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Handmade Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
10
3.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£7.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2011
For readers of sports books this one will become frustrating and cause you to skip pages at a time. Sitting uncomfortably between a self-help book and a performance analysis book this fails to deliver on either front. Blindingly obvious statements are drawn out in minute detail in each chapter and then are covered again in summaries at the end of each chapter. The 'learning' points are so basic as to insult anyone motivated enough to try to find books to help them and the summaries are merely text copied and pasted from the chapters without any additional value added.
If you are inspired by Clive Woodward's performance in the real world then read his book "Winning". This one will certainly not give you any insight into his thoughts.
If you are a student of sports looking for helpful hints for mental performance then read "The inner game of golf".
As a student of sporting performance paying money to buy a book that tells me, "practise is important" or "remaining focussed is key" without giving me any information to back these up or hints as to how to do it is incredibly annoying. Invest your money elsewhere and good luck in your sporting endeavours.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2008
Sadly this book isn't what at all what I expected, and overall it's very disappointing. It seems to be more of an advert for a certain mental conditioning company, which is mentioned on just about every other page and at one stage is called by different names. There are several interview extracts with famous sportsmen and women, sadly not too many from the very elite top end (Michael Jordan, Roger Federer, Pete Sampras, Michael Schumacher etc) and far too much repetition of facts, names and stories. It's also poorly written in places and badly structured throughout, but the worst thing was it taught me nothing I didn't already know.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2008
Jeff Grout has met and interviewed many, many top sports stars. This is and opportunity to learn why and how people exceed their best, never give up and lead in their sports.
Covering the sort of topics that you may be told you need to do to be successful, Jeff reveals what life's winners think and do to give them the edge.
You can imagine this being spoken to you as you read the relaxed style.
I enjoyed this.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2009
This book is full of tips that you can adapt to your normal life, a good example is Alan Shearer's way of blocking out a missed goal by blowing air through his lip and visualing blowing away the memory to ensure he does not dwell on it.

Lots of inspiring comment and anecdote allow readers who don't have access to motivating speeches by these sportspeople to catch up and be enthused by great sporting heroes
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
I think many of the reviews of this book are quite unfair.

The significant number of interviews and insights into how people think were well worth the cover price. I found them very motivational simply because these individuals articulated what worked for them and often their reasoning behind the thoughts. Some of it may seem tripe or unoriginal, but even truisms can be valuable and much useful and thought provoking stuff here.

Many books spew out motivation from a motivational speaker with no experience beyond being a motivational speaker. This book is different.

Yes, some padding in the book (and in fact too much often simplistic author padding) and that is why I knock off a star.

I liked it a lot and it had me hooked pretty quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
I was very disappointed with this book. I love sport, I love business and I love popular psychology yet this book was just a really tedious read that taught me nothing new. Only some quotes from Roger Black got me remotely curious to search for more material by him. I would much rather read a motivational book such as Goals by Brian Tracy than read this. Very uninspiring and a missed opportunity as other reviewers comment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Started well, but then became repetitive and a medium to advertise a number of companies within the text. The book could have been finished in three chapters but drags out the same theories over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
I have just finished reading this book and, despite what some might say, I thought it was a brilliant read. It reinforced views that I already had and introduced useful methods I had not discovered before. Top sportsman are interviewed to discuss mental preparation, motivation and team performance, among other things. The views are expressed in a simple and effective manner, and I took notes throughout. I really enjoyed it!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
Without doubt one of the best books on the mental aspect of sport i have ever read. This book is as good as if not just better than "Football For Life" By Simon Cooper as the best book i have read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
The book has some good points. The importance of drilling teams, or individuals, in relation to T-CUP is well explained. However it gets very repetitive very quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here