Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2004
This book is FAB!! It has pull out patterns, which can be photocopied at various percentages. This means that unlike buying a pattern, which is a set size, you can make any of the bags featured in almost any size. It really does include a huge variety of styles from clutch bags to beach bags, and a load of other styles in between! Another bonus, is the gallery at the back which gives wonderfull inspiration, and really shows what can be done with the patterns. It really is one of the best books to start out with!!
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2004
I'm new to bag making and this book has given me a good head start. Great instructions and pull out patterns you can use over and over. I felt that the only drawback to this book is that it only covers 4 basic styles of bag. But you can adapt the basic principles to make a different style of bag. Lots of inspiration.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2007
The patterns and instructions are really useful. They're clear and simple and don't assume you're an idiot, which is always good. I found the supposedly 'inspirational' ideas - photos of bags that other people had made from the patterns - a bit, well, lame. Still, the main point of the book for me was the patterns and instructions, as I'm still a bit of a beginner at sewing, so it was definitely a good buy.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 15 November 2008
Handbags are high fashion with the appropriate high prices attached. Imagine the joy of using four fold-out patterns to make your own individual styles. The four patterns are for a tote, clutch bag, drawstring bag and beach bag. Step-by-step, comprehensive instructions and photographs show you how to create bags to suit your wardrobe. The ideas come from a team of experts at the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York. Once you have mastered the designer secrets they teach, you can customise the patterns. For non-sewers, there are ideas to embellish existing bags.
A variety of fabrics are used from denim to leather. My favourite is the felt appliqued tote.
I feel the patterns could have been a little more varied, but there are plenty of examples of the different looks you can achieve with just four patterns. A gallery of designs offers inspiration to spark your own creativity.
There are some English sources of materials included, but these are mixed in with American sources, not listed separately. The chapter headings appear to be misleading as they include other styles that should not appropriate to that chapter. I don't particularly feel that the subtitle is defined by the contents.
Overall this is a good book for the beginner bag maker, who then wants to develop their own ideas. A well-presented, handsome and useful book.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2007
Useful for the basics of making a bag, but not very inspiring. I found the gallery of other peoples bags they had made very disappointing, but perhaps that's to make us feel good about what we make! Its also annoying having to cut the pages out of the book to get the patterns, and taking each page to be photocopied could cost you a fortune.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
Like the curate's egg - good in parts.

Some good ideas here and SOME of the bags are very nice. The patterns are the most useful element. However, you need to think carefully about the methods as the finish on some doesn't look very good. You would probably need to develop your own improvements to some of the construction methods.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
I'd never made bags like these before. Easy to follow instructions for very pleasing results. Have made a few to sell for charity fundraising and they have been very popular especially made in bright colours.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2002
A nice simple book to read and follow.
Nice to do in spare time and this book shows you how.
Colour pictures throughout and useful patterns at the back to create ypur own bags with.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
I like the look of this book and would have bought it if all the pattern pieces were full sized, but many need enlarging on a photocopier and that always puts me off.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2009
Full of info for a first time bag maker. Lots of info but more importantly patterns to get you started.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)