Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2017
Great stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Intelligently written, beautifully laid out and a good read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2017
Given as present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2011
Any listing of fifty cars will always raise some controversy as to which vehicles should be included. Therefore it is important to remember that this book is about classic and inspirational designs, and overall the editors have done a pretty good job.

I actually tried to guess what would be included before the book arrived and only managed to pick some of the more obvious, iconic vehicles that are in the list. This really is one of the joys of this little book, because as you consider some of the cars contained within, the realisation dawns that classic automobile design is not all about sports and prestige models, although there are some, but also includes everyday transportation like the Volkswagen Golf.

Every vehicle is nicely pictured and accompanied by an interesting and informative write up. Overall this is a very well presented book and a good read for any car enthusiast, but be prepared for the fall out over what is, or is not included, great fun!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
This is a type of book which often caught my attention as a young boy, and surprisingly it even has the same layout as the books I remember from the 60's - not too big & flashy, with a sparsely coloured yet attractive cover. Perhaps not what you would expect today from a coffee table book but I think it is charming.
The contents is equally refreshing, with a slightly different perspective. The focus is on design solutions - not so much on contest performance and the well known racing car icons - but rather on ideas which have brought new thinking into car design, both with respect to function and to form.
The choice of automotive milestones can always be debated but I found the selection of cars in this book to quite well made and very interesting. The text is short but very informative and to the point.
I have learned much from this book and I like it a lot.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Ridiculously tiny, frivolous book for the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
Firstly - superb overnight delivery using DPD courier..... ordered at 9.15 pm and delivered the following day at 3.35pm..... packaging fab as usual.... A great little book to introduce boys to car design..... nicely presented and easy to read. The more of this type of book young people are offered the more they will understand and appreciate design in all its aspects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Book had the content I had expected but was smaller and less attractive in its presentation than I had hoped for as a gift.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
Bought this for my 13yr old son for Christmas. He loves it - very enjoyable and very interesting. It arrived in plenty of time and was very popular with everyone on Christmas Day.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
I chose for starts for this book as it had cats in it but pictures good but not big enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)