Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2017
Great wee book to get you started up in world of android building
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
You don't have to buy anything else to be writing Android apps 30 minutes after picking up this book and you may even see them on your smartphone, though you don't even need one! Using the FREE Appinventor for Android, available from, and supported by, MIT, this book takes you through most of the functions the Appinventor system can give you.

The only fault I'd pick, which is very subjective anyway, is that he's telling you what you can do, giving you one example and moving on. This may not be a problem for you, and the book is best used from page 1 onwards, rather than what I wanted, which was more of a reference. And I didn't have the time to give to doing the work properly, I would recommend following the instructions and then playing about with the results, making it do something different. Spending time on playing would be rewarded.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
Take care when you buy this book. It's "Building Android Apps" USING APP INVENTOR. I haven't seen that - i haven't tried to magnify the cover. I've checked the index, the table of contents, they all seemed right.

Unfortunately, the title is deceiving. Amazon should add the "using app inventor" to it.

It's been a waste of money. I`m not returning it only because it would cost me more than I spent on it already.

If you plan on writing actual Android code, look for something else.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
You will learn more from using the MIT APP website than this book. I am a fan of this book series but this is absolutely unbelievable poor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
I like the way these easysteps books are design didactically. Unfortunately, this book is rather disappointing as it is only based on designing android apps using a beta version of the app inventor from Google. At the moment the app inventor is still quite limited in comparison to other tools in the market.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
wasn't what I expected, I have the full range of books and in comparison to the others (which are great) this was very poor and thoroughly disappointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
This book as a very clear and simple way of explaining the workings of Android software. easy to use. low priced.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
An excellent book, well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
This has no real programming examples, instead it uses an 'App Inventor' similar to Scratch (the pointless application they use to teach kids programming concepts). Seriously disappointed with this purchase :( ... Do not buy!!! even if you have no programming experience at all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)