Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
54
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2005
Arriving at uni and finding that we'd be using Java as our primary programming language (i'd previously only used BASIC), I tried to find a simple book to get me started...
"Java In Easy Steps" is a brilliant book in this respect: simple, concise examples that are fully explained and give you an excelent introduction to the Java language. By the end of the book you will have aquired a good understanding on Java and be able to write fairly sophisticated programs.
As this is quite a small book (192 pages) it cannot cover all of the extensive Java API, but there is more than enough here to get you started and a page of 'resources' (i.e. websites) for further reading if you'd like to explore Java any further.
I found this book very useful and a lot easier to follow than a much larger 'recomended textbook' for my course (which cost about £40...). All in all, a great book for beginners and intermediate Java programmers. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2007
If you want to start learning Java you can't go wrong with this book. It is a great introduction to the language in easy to read English as opposed to the unfriendly tecnospeak of other "beginners" books. I am a fan on Mike McGrath's style for three reasons:

1 He makes no assumptions about the readers prior knowledge,

2 His style is very readable; you can pick up the book, read a page and put it down again if you want,

3 He starts with simple ideas and builds on them to explain more complex ideas.

The only downside is this book is not in colour unlike the excellent Linux in Easy Steps, but this in no way detracts from an excellent book.

Buy this book and learn Java!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
I think previous reviewers who have dissed this book for being too simplistic are missing the point - IT IS A BOOK FOR BEGINNERS - and it serves that readership very well. Clearly a lot of thought was given to who the book is for - this is a very welcome change in a computer book!
So many instruction books in computing seem to be written with no clearly defined readership (and the level of knowledge and experience they may already have) in mind.
It seems that the 'Easy Steps' series of books set a high professional level of writing and publishing skills - they target a defined readership in an intelligent way and they keep that readership in mind - they don't let their author's run off at the mouth and lose contact with the reader.
This book does what it intends to do - get you started in Java programming - and it lays a good basis for you to then move on to higher levels.
It is clearly written, intelligently structured, and well illustrated. If you are reasonably computer savvy, but not an experienced programmer, and you want to start programming with Java - buy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2008
This is an excellent book for starters. Mike Mcgarth is an expert in explaining complicated stuff in simple and plain english. This book takes you from Basics upto complicated Threads. The author also gives further resources to be explored. Lastly the layout and illustrations of the book is very good i,e mostly one page deals with one sub topic.

I have rated this as 4 start for 2 reason .

Reason one is, The author has used JPad pro as IDE which is available only as Shareware. He could have used Eclipse or JCreator which have freeware versions.

Reason two is, The author has not discussed anything about java debugging.

Still I recommend this as a top book for beginners. Also my background SAP and I'am an ABAP Programmer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2009
I have found that this book is a nice insight into JAVA, but I'm a little disappointed by all of the mistakes/omissions in the book, such as missing syntax, necessary for the programs to work! The downloadable files are of course correct, but I would have been happier not to have had to rely on them.. I would prefer the book to become my point of reference for my future programming needs.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Great book which helped me pass my exam for my module. Easy to read. Split into categories, going through each function in good detail. A MUST BUY for anyone studying IT/Computing courses or just want to learn the language for programming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Need to learn Java for my Programming Module in uni and ive used these books before (PHP & MySQL and C++) with much success. The only reason im giving it 4* is because its very very simple (but thats because ive had experience programming, so i shouldnt really give it 4*). Ive read about 20 pages so far and i can say that its a great all round guide and it includes Java 7 (Bonus). It has plenty of theory and just enough programming examples to see you get to grips fairly quickly. For someone who has never programmed in a language before (yes that includes HTML & CSS too, those are not languages) this should be a good book, however i would not recommend a language like JAVA to begin with (very complex), Try Visual Basic.NET (very beginner friendly and is a great simple language that is more powerful then it gets credit for) and if you enjoy that, then this should be no issue. A Great Book in a Great Series. If it was a little more interesting (a few harder tasks maybe?) then it would be 5* without a doubt.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
Great introduction to java (and programming in general).

A very basic overview of the language - making you want to learn more.

If you have done any programming before then the first few chapters in this book will be too easy for you but still nice to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
The layout and quality of this book seem very good a first glance and for the price it beats others on the market hands down, however the author seems to assume a good knowledge of computer speak already and I found myself rereading parts of the book several times simply trying to understand what a particular section was going to be teaching me, this is despite me having what I would consider quite proficient computing skills.
Diagrams help, although some of the tables used for examples are a little misleading at times and would benefit from further annotation to clearly explain what they represent.

I purchased this book with another book on Java and I have to say the other although being more expensive, explained things in a far clearer and simpler way.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
Its a good book and starts very basic with lots of examples and exercises. I quickly found that it doesnt go into enough detail, after a week, you'll be looking for something else....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)