Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 October 2013
Most 'beginner' books in programming languages follow the same depressing pattern: For a couple of chapters, they're great. Everything is easy and well-explained.

Then, usually around chapter 3 or 4, you suddenly find that what you thought was a gentle learning curve has suddenly turned into an impassible vertical cliff-face with its top lost in the clouds. You look at the text and examples, and unless you're NOT a beginner at programming, everything may as well be written in Martian.

Even the much-praised C++: A Beginner's Guide, Second Edition ALMOST falls into this trap, because right from the start it uses jargon and mathematical terms that won't be clear to the non-mathematical beginner.

By now, I must have looked at just about every single C++ book that's aimed at beginners, and in my opinion, this is the only one I've seen that really IS for absolute beginners.

If you're taking your first steps, begin here. This one WON'T have you tearing your hair out in frustration!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Great beginner book or even if you find there are holes in your understanding of certain fundamental lessons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
Really great little book for getting started with c++ was using this a few months ago now I'm building my own 3D game engine :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Before I start, I'd just like to say this is a good book, and has been helpful, and I'd recommend it to people wanting to learn C++.
However, this book absolutely will not teach you the language.
The best way I could describe this, is as a reference book. Each relatively simple, idea is given a two page spread (for example, Vectors) and the book attempts to explain this.
I would seriously recommend getting this as a Uni student, it's pretty cheap and not heavy and would be great as a reference guide like "Ooh, I've forgotten how to declare a function, I'll quickly check in here", but this book absolutely, categorically won't teach you, or any other beginner C++

There's a few problems:
First of all, because the book sticks to the template of a two page spread per item, it can result in some subjects being horrendously under explained as a beginner, and some massively over explained (eg, string concatenation). This can result in things being very unclear to someone who hasn't broached the topic before. However, (and the reason why I suggest this as a reference book) using other materials will aid in the understanding, and when coming back and reading again from this, it does become (or at least help to) clear

Secondly, this book really just doesn't build on itself. It feels like the author sat with a list and wrote all the topics he wanted to clear and then just... wrote about each of them separately. There's no real intertwining, no reasoning for why things are being done in the order they're done in, and the question 'why?' is NEVER answered (something sorely under-addressed in most C++ books, to be fair).

Conclusion?
Good book, especially for the cheap price, but PLEASE, don't expect this book to teach you C++!
This is a great book for reading along with actual books that will teach you C++ (I'll list at the end). It's great for going "I can't find a quick answer in that 1300 page book, I'll just flip and find a spread on the subject I've forgotten about!" but you will, categorically, undoubtedly need another book designed to teach you C++ for you to have a shot at learning this complex language. There will be spreads that are just of no use to you when you're learning that specific topic, but it will help in reference later on.
Also, I wouldn't suggest reading this book cover to cover, in terms of the order of topics; it's all over the place.

GREAT beginner C++ books that everyone seems to agree on (that you will need - note: not in any particular order): Jumping Into C++ (Alex Allain), Programming & Principles of C++ (Bjarne Stroustrup - Creator of C++), C++ Primer (NOT the Prata one/6th edition, go for the 5th edition).
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
I have to learn fortran 90 for my course at university, but i am very interested in programming in general, so i bought this book.
I would say there are a few requirements of pc knowledge just for the set up, but this book explains everything in exquisite detail :)
Pros:-
Contains just the necessary information so you can learn without getting sinfully bored with programming jibber jabber.
examples in the book come with syntax highlighting
good price
very good for referring to for just a quick reference
Cons:- it is slightly short... there is a whole world to be explored through programming and this book just skims the basics..
I would definitely recommend this book!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
although well written, it is a pity that the author hasnt bothered to keep the book up to date.
I selected this book because it also dealt with the graphical application development (although not in depth).
It refers for this to Microsoft IDE (integrated development environment) known as Visual Studio Express and
indicates how to work with Windows Forms Application Templates.
They haven existed in visual studio since 2012 I think. Its now 2015 and this book still refers to this.
the last chapter (10) aims to "...bring together elements from previous chapters to build a complete C++ application in a visual programming environment." So in some ways, you could say, the culmination of what the book teaches, yet using tools which havent existed since 2012
as far as I can tell. The book will still teach you C++ as a console application but who in this day and age runs console applications (text only).
Infact the whole of visual Studio Express no longer exists as far as I can see and Microsoft has moved these templates
to their C# offering which is very similar to C++ but also very different.
it makes me wonder where else this book is out of date. A reasonable C++ book but obviously hasnt been editied or looked at for some time.
I recommend the author rewrite chapter 10 by referring to Microsoft Blend for Visual Studio which is now included with the VS IDE from Microsoft and will help readers with the graphical interface ALTHOUGH that would also mean detailing all the differences between C# and C++.
So conclusion: if you want to learn about basic C++ then this is a good book. If you want to know how to use C++ with a graphical interface then this book is out of date and will steer you towards something that doesnt exist anymore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
Its a very interesting book i admit that.
It also has loads of definitions and tips.
However, there is out of date software recommended in the book, when i am following some of the activities the links are broken and the software which is used in the book was unavailable for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I was looking for a book to introduce me to the basics, and this has checked the check boxes for that and then some! shows some nifty performance enhancement techniques as well as the basics!

I have other books in this range too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
interesting book easy to learn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)