Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 3 July 2017
Very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 November 2006
I thoroughly enjoyed this little book. It's not full-on and doesn't stretch you - it's just a nice gentle travel guide of Edward Enfield's (Harry Enfield's father) journeys around Ireland on his bicycle. Edward is obviously one of life's gentlemen and his wit and decency shine through this book. If you'd like a cycle journey through Ireland hand-in-hand with a gent then buy this book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2017
Listened to the audio book, read by the author. Gentle easy listening. A pleasure to be enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2011
Having travelled in and around Ireland a few times, it was interesting to find out someone else's opinions. Enfield undertakes a journey up the west coast and has documented his travels in an enjoyable read. The stories are straight forward and the writing is uncomplicated but the simplicity makes the book all the more enjoyable. The conversations with the Irish people and Enfield's theory on Irish people speaking English are great reads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2016
A laid back read about cycling the West Coast Of Ireland and the sights and people, interesting but didn't tick all the boxes for me unfortunately.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2017
I found this to be an enjoyable read that trips along at a gentle pace. Mr Enfield is a witty writer and this book delves into the history of the various places along the way. Ireland sounds like great cycling country with a very welcoming population. One day perhaps I will pedal round it myself. I was quite inspired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2013
I'm not interested in his exploits in national service; but the travelling and the history of Ireland was extremely interesting. Shame about the middle!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2011
An excellent companion for cyclists, car drivers or anyone else travelling the byways of Ireland. Perhaps if it rained just a little less the journey would have been more enjoyable when I followed it !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2009
A delightful book. Mr enfield's joy in life and his fellow man shows through.
Too many people regard retirement as the end of purposefull life.
He is an inspiration and I love his sense of humour.
He inspires me to purchase a push-bike when I retire.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)