Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
539
3.8 out of 5 stars
Ulysses (Wordsworth Classics)
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


on 20 June 2017
For anyone who has been fascinated by Finnegans Wake but has been unable to follow it very far in a printed version, this is a great alternative. I got a much better idea of what was going on and found it very enjoyable. The language flows like music. Of course I'm not Irish nor a Joyce expert and no doubt some will quibble about the interpretation, for example the inflections of speech which impart meaning to the stream of consciousness text - I myself doubt if there any 'right answers' to be found. However, if you're looking for a way into this book, this reading is probably as good as you're going to get.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Very happy with product and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Complex and controversial, earthy and ethereal -Typical Joyce
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Complex, elaborate and very difficult to finish. Trying to get past chapter 6.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Speedy delivery. Good copy. A!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Just as hoped for, a mint copy with very readable typeface. A great pleasure to re-read the work in this format!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Sometimes skips bits
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
On the face of it FINNEGAN'S WAKE is an intriguing curiosity. As a reader who enjoys peculiar fiction I can happily dip in at random and be amused by the advanced horseplay of the topsy-turvy text. It's a mingle-mangle of tangled yarns. A labyrinth of weird echoes.
But as a whole Joyce's monstrosity is unfathomable and insurmountable - and like encountering most monsters, in the end all a mere mortal can do is either avoid the beast (flee) or stand and fight: if you choose the latter then you are indeed brave, and dare I say somewhat foolish. I cannot see how this vast book of jumbles could ever be worth prolonged effort.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse