Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2015
Creative Writing Book for Uni
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
I like to read a Henry James novel every year or so: I love the clarity of his thought and the ethical dilemmas that he presents to his characters (and his readers!).
This short novel is incredibly modern in its subject-matter: a little girl, fruit of a loveless marriage who is neglected by both her parents. Maisie is a very attrattive child to the reader: never precocious or irritating. James pulls off the incredible feat of an unmarried, middle-aged man writing from a child's prespective, and his writing is both believable and moving.
Read it and be prepared to have your heart broken!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
I've been wondering for years how to write about a Henry James novel. Whenever I try and describe his books to friends, I sow discouragement and disinclination wherever I go, failing to telegraph the magical beauty that lies in all James' great works: the meaning, the observational intensity, the humane humour and sadness, the flashes of extraordinary insight into what makes people tick.

"What Maisie Knew" is the story of a little girl through whose eyes we watch, with sadness, wry smiles and occasional horror and trepidation, the machinations of the various adults around her, who are embroiled in her parents' epic love battles, deconstructed so that its component parts become essentially puppets in a punch and judy show, watched with intelligence and mystery by the child. The moments of real love or kindness are so rare as to be extremely touching: it's above all a tragicomedy, a satire.

The virtuoso quality of his prose thrills with the vibrato of his grasp on the myriad ways people find to communicate whatever they mean to say. In exquisite, hyper-real language he forces you again and again to look - and you see - oh, too much. Everything hidden and visible, everything spoken and unspoken. Gauzy veils of meaning, subtext and intent, corruption and beauty, reveal themselves woozily under his masterful touch, at every turn, in each exquisitely painted, impressionistic scene. They are loaded, nonetheless, with sharp little stings for the unwary (who might believe they're along merely for an elegantly pretty ride in a period drama).

That can make for an intense, almost physical reading experience that sometimes leaves me groping my way through the story, enjoying the experience while simultaneously somewhat exhausted by the effort of keeping up with it. I occasionally have to strangle a desire to shout "just SAY what you MEAN, man!" But of course it's crass as well as beside the point, to wish to tear away such painstakingly constructed layers of meaning.

Henry James left the world lasting gifts of the very finest order, justly-named 'classic' literature of a very special, rare kind, to be savoured forever. Any effort and attention needed to read his novels are richly rewarded. I also loved "Portrait of a Lady", "Washington Square" and "The Turn of the Screw", but I'd put "The Ambassadors" up there as my ultimate Henry James novel, the pinnacle of his art. In the marvellous culture-clash of the `new' world of America versus the `old' world of Europe in the nineteenth century, he found his theoretical muse.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Henry James style of writting takes some getting used to but it's worth the bother of reading his discriptions of moods and facial expressions. The story about a very young girl who has the unenviable position of two parents, two step parents who sometimes want her and sometimes dont. Thank goodness for Mrs Wix the governess. Looking forward to seeing this when it is released on film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Very interesting to compare with the recent film. The book shows everything through the child's eyes and lets one draw one's own conclusions about the other characters. The film turned it into yet another story about how a (pretty) child can draw a couple of adults together and help them find happiness. Typical Christmas film stuff. The book is much more disturbing -- it's hard to tell whether, at the end, Maisie is in the happiest possible situation or in one that will be stifling and unfair to her developing intelligence.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
"What Masie Knew" is not a book to be approaches casually. It is a difficult work which demands close attention to detail and the prose is often quite convoluted--sometimes unnecessarily so. We see a young girl being used as a weapon by her estranged parents and even by her step-parents. The novel is filled with quite unlikeable, selfish, mercenary, morally corrupt adults. But somehow Masie survives.

F. R. Leavis in his critical work "The Great Tradition" makes an interesting observation about this:

" . . . the consummately 'done' theme of "What Masie Knew" is the incorruptible innocence of Masie; innocence that not merely preserves itself in what might have seemed irresistibly corrupting circumstances, but can even generate decency out of the egotistic squalors of adult personal relations."

Looked at in this way, What Masie Knew has a reasonably positive message. Masie has shown herself to be a survivor and the feeling I get is that she will continue so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
This is a remarkable story of an acrimonious divorce seen through the eyes of a child. Maisie is shared between her vituperative parents. Both are cavalier in regard to their responsibilities; both re-marry unsuccessfully; affairs and liaisons flourish, and yet Maisie's essential goodness survives.

An excellent morality tale.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Beautiful prose, and very rewarding read.

To see the world through six year old Maisie's eyes was a revelation.

She was led and yet in the end she was in charge, in a funny sort of way.

She did indeed know everything.

P Coxon
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
This is one of Henry James best novels, that is particularly relevant to present day social mores. I shall look forward to seeing the film. It is, however not an easy read, as James' convoluted sentences and long paragraphs need an high level of concentration.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
It is some years since I have read any of Henry James' work, so it took me sometime to re-engage with his rhythm of writing. I often found myself re-reading sentences, to ensure I understood what he was conveying. The subject matter was very interesting, particularly set back in time to the mid 19th century. Although earlier authors often dealt with orphans and the consequent way their lives developed, I found this a brave venture into the effects of divorce on a child. To view Masie's life with a child's innocence and literal belief is quite humbling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse