Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 3 August 2011
The Waves (Wordsworth Classics)

Book is exactly as expected. BUT problem with it was that without any 'ill-treatment', the first 10 pages of the book disintegrated and came apart from the spine. This may be the start of further problems with other pages coming adrift!
What does one do about it??


John Garley
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2016
A book review of The Waves by Virginia Woolf.

About the author from the book

Virginia Woolf is now recognized as a major twentieth- century author, a great novelist and essayist, and a key figure in literary history as a feminist and modernist. Born in 1882, she was the daughter of the editor and critic Leslie Stephen and suffered a traumatic adolescence after the deaths of her mother and her step- sister leaving her subject to breakdowns for the rest of her life. Woolf lived an energetic life among friends and family, reviewing and writing, and dividing her time between London and the Sussex Downs. In 1941, fearing another attack of mental illness, she drowned herself.

Blurb on the back

Tracing the lives of a group of six friends, The Waves follows the development from childhood to youth and middle age. Separately and together, they query the relationship of past to present and the meaning of life itself.

Good bits about the book

This book is unique, her style of writing and subjects she chooses are like no other. The way she writes is as if it is a long poem, not sure if this is a good point or not.

Bad bits about the book

Basically I don’t like this author, I have previously read Orlando and thought it was really quite strange but I tried to go into this book with an open mind except this book is also really quite strange.

If you want a lesson in similes and metaphors then this is the book for you as one or the other appear on pretty much every other line.

The book is completely set in the minds of six friends, there is no outward communication between them. You know when the narrative is moving from one friend to the other as the beginning of the paragraph starts with “Bernard said” such and such. I just didn’t get on with this style of writing.

My rating

Two out of five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2016
I expect to re-read “The Waves” (1931), in part because its (Modernist) difficulty is likely to release new meanings, rather than confirm assumptions or provide reassurance, but also because as its six characters get older and, in their interspersed monologues, contemplate death so they seem to matter more and move beyond their very irritating youthful characters.

Even after one reading, though, I would say that while “The Waves” is acute on time, it relegates the social and historical insights that occur from time to time, and, to my surprise, at least, emerge much more unerringly in “Mrs Dalloway” (1925) and “To the Lighthouse” (1927). Possibly, this is because Virginia Woolf sticks, mostly, to the perspectives (and the narrowness of political outlook) of Bernard, Susan, Rhoda, Neville, Jinny, and Louis; but, equally, it could be because of Woolf’s allegiance to the values of nature announced in the title and pursued doggedly, as well as through the unnamed third-person narrator who follows the rhythm of one day even as the six named characters go through to middle-age. This allegiance to nature or natural reality is quite deliberate on Woolf’s part and distinguishes “The Waves” from “To the Lighthouse”, which, in some respects, it resembles. Whereas in “To the Lighthouse”, for all its Modernist interest in consciousness, there is a concern with how people inter-relate in society, in “The Waves” “the contact of with one another” is “strange” for the characters. Almost in spite of her metaphysical interests, though, there are so many wonderful passages in “The Waves” when society – and particularly London society -- presses upon the more worldly of the six characters that there is an even greater novel shadowing the novel that Virginia Woolf has written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2010
You probably love or hate Virginia Woolf. Unfortunately, I found myself hating her. I have no doubt the commited will be outraged and point out that Woolf's style is deliberately written as a stream of consciousness. To me however it seemed like a cross between a 6 years old's News Diary and the recollections of an out of body experience. Sorry!
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2016
I will not repeat other peoples words praising Virginia Woolf's The Waves. For I truly love the woman, her style and her stories.

I have only one MAJOR complaint about this edition. Even if I am very lucky, not having too many people around me who can spoil the story for me(they read modern junk), this book actually spoiled itself.
The Wordsworth editions are usually lined with numbered references which are very useful for understanding the context of current events, people you've never heard of etc. But one of the notes in this edition, spoiled a major change in the book before it had happened.

Buy it for the story, do NOT read note #50.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2015
It is hard to describe this book. It is poetry as prose. It follows five people from childhood through to adulthood, running in the same style as waves as they are lapping against a beach, as the tide comes in and goes out.

You need to concentrate at the beginning to find how the language and words pull you in, but you are subtley included and drawn in the the text and the "mysticism" it encapsulates. It is the first book by Virginia Woolf that I have read and it wont be the last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2017
Crazy good book. Studied for my English degree, and this book had me absolutely gripped. A complex narrative, well-developed characters that could have only been written by Woolf. Overtakes Mrs Dalloway in my opinion. Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2014
This was tricky to read, but definitely worth finishing. It is written in a stream of consciousness style which can be disconcerting. However, it is worth persevering with as there are a number of interesting comments on life within. Although it is certainly not easy to read, it is one that you will be pleased you have completed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Really interesting read. First time I have met Virginia Woolf but it makes me want to read more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2018
Like her books. Pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse