Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 15 August 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2017
too big
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2014
I love Mrs Beeton, great book, some really good tips!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2009
This is a very interesting book and a trip down to how life was downstairs. Many of the receipes unusual but also many very traditional and as a child experienced them myself. A Great book well worth a read
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2013
I bought this for myself and ended up giving it to my mum as a gift as she was browsing the pages and was thrilled to see a lot of her mums recipes, and hints and tips for the household from years gone by. Great gift for a pensioner but would recommend the full size version at around £33 second hand as it is easier to read. The writing on this *mini* version is tiny
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2013
This is just what I wanted for my sister's wedding present. She marries in August, has lived with her partner for 3 years and they have everything they need so I needed something a little different, something that had a twist, something that reminded her of her English roots (she lives in Australia). They both love cooking and I thought this would be a very unique gift. I am sure they will agree. Arrived very promptly and was just as described. Would definitely recommend seller!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2013
This is a lovely book and the most classic of all household books. For me, you don't have a good collection of household books without this one! It is more than full of good hints, traditional recipes and home economy tips all to put to good use or reference when marvelling at the things women used to have to do...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2012
Great book. Pity it is not hardback as I expect it will be heavily used and referred to! Buy it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2014
Interesting book - what I didn't realise is that this book is almost a cube in size!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2010
It's interesting to explore all the areas which a victorian household must master according to Mrs Beeton. Some things are more of a curiosity nowadays but others come in handy today too. The recipes are surprisingly accurate in their measurements. All in all it's a pleasure to read this book from time to time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse