Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2015
Having read the Quran and two conflicting biographies of Mohammed, and found very little there to understand why anyone would genuinely want to be a Muslim, I found it refreshing to read thoughts from a Muslim point of view that does question why Islam is so sterile and narrow-minded.

Also , the book is extremely well written and even has quite humorous considering the subject matter. (not something you can ever associate with Islam).

This should be recommended reading in all schools (though unlikely to be in many madrasas).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
What a book, a complete and exhaustive list of everything wrong with Islam today from one of it's very own. irshad is a reformist with a mission, I wish her well in her endeavour. She is a courageous girl who will succeed, I am sure. I particularly enjoyed the comparison she made between muons of North America and Europe. I think Europe has to do a lot of answering for it's treatment of Muslims as second and third class citizens. Well dome Irshad, may God give you strength.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
She is a very courageous individual sticking her neck out to purposefully outline her carefully crafted and analysed views on Islam. It's a very dangerous and difficult thing to do.

As for my title well, it's impossible to give this lady a one star, unless if you are muslim and that means the ability to become quickly offended and at the same time the inability to analyse and reflect properly, hence the people she is writing about are the one star reviewers - point well made by her illustrating all that is wrong with the muslim ummah is clarified well by the one star reviewers! The irony of it.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
For anyone trying to come to grips with "the Islam thing" these days, this is a refreshingly commonsense treatment, coming from s shrewd observer. An excellent exposition.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Neutral review because it was a gift and I don't know what the receiver made of it as they never told me and I don't wish to ask!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2005
It has been a long time since I have read such an inspiring, informative yet funny book. Bravely written. From the heart and soul. Raw and powerful. Impacting and true. It is a must, as it opens ones eyes to a lot of real stuff that has been swept under the carpet and accepted as such. NO MORE!!! Irshad Manji will no longer allow the lies to live and breed. ENOUGH! congratulations to this brave, amazing lady. Perhaps one day the world will open its eyes and a change will take place. READ THIS BOOK!!
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Brave woman, more voices needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
Insightful and engaging
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
Ijtihad - the Islamic way of critical thinking - is a technique we should all familiarise and equip ourselves with. As a fellow Western Muslim and Ugandan refugee, I applaud Irshad for challenging the status quo and using the freedom inherent in Western society to freely question and debate openly fundamental gaps in Islam today and the Muslims who need to find new ways to serve as ambassadors for Truth, Freedom and Peaceful co-existence. Bravo my dear sister-in-Islam. You have truly inspired me to re-examine my faith and the truths of Islam versus tribal/cultural interpretations. God Bless!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2008
This book is a complete waste of money! Its anti-muslim and was written for non muslims to hate muslims. Non muslims already hate muslims enough,
so there is no need for this book...Muslims, don't waste your money or
your energy, buy packet of crisps instead and pray for Ms Manji!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)