Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
18
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2011
An almost romantic biography of Charlie Wilson and his journey from the slums of Battersea (as it was then) to the sumptous splendour of Porta Banus..via numerous robberies (including trains), prison break-outs and international drug deals We meet some of the heaviest 'chaps' on the Costa Del Crime..(Charlie associated with most of these people previously in prison)and learn about his secret basement with the little window We then learn how Charlie is assasinated in his own home in the most undignified manner on his 35th Wedding Anniversary

There were quite clearly two Charlies, the family man who loved his wife and daughters and the darker Charlie who got involved in all sorts of serious mischief placing him at the 'heavier' end of villainy

Charlie was never going to settle for a 'comfortable' life..he wanted it all..and according to this book, he became heavily involved in the drugs trade on the Costa Del Sol.. Importing large amounts of cannabis from North Africa and cocaine from Columbia. Charlie had always been Anti-Drugs, but when he realised how much money could be made, became a major player

Charlie worked hard at whatever he did and wanted to make as much money as possible,irrespective of how dangerous and risky this was. As his own health started to deteriorate (emphysemia) and he mixed in ever more ruthless company, sooner or later there was going to be serious trouble And there was. A huge consignment of cannabis resin (worth over 130 million pounds) was discovered by customs and Charlie, apparently, paid the ultimate price

This book traces the changing face of crime from the bank/train robbers of the early sixties..with their heirachical order and 'modus-operandi', to the drug fuelled psychopaths of today

An interesting read
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Having enjoyed the fairly recent book The Great Train Robbery: Crime of the Century: The Definitive Account by Nick Russell-Pavier & Stewart Richards, this title took my eye. Very glad it did, highly recommended as an informative and intriguing read. Charlie was a villain but many would feel it a shame he met the end he did. It certainly seemed out of character for such a careful, meticulous planner
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2007
Charlie Wilson was one of gangland's most charismatic characters and one who was deeply admired by the underworld. The author of this book, Wensley Clarkson, is a highly talented writer as well as a very skilful investigative journalist. In this well written book, Clarkson manages to get the balance between the crims and the police just right, neither extolling one party, nor castigating the other.

The result is an informative work and I think it likely that more than anybody else, Clarkson has come nearer to the truth about the Great Train Robbery. Certainly, and again more than anybody else, he has provided enough information as to the identity of the person who ensured that Charlie departed this life, sooner than was absolutely necessary.

A very good read.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
An interesting read but inaccuracies lead me to wonder as to the depth of research and sloppiness of the writing... The Great Train Robbery trial was never at The Old Bailey and was held at Aylesbury... the money found in the caravan belonged to Jimmy White not Tommy Wisbey... whole passages describing the south London of Charlie Wilson's early years are used again word for word in a later book 'The Curse Of Brinks Mat'... so found it quite disappointing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
If you are interested in the criminal side of the law , this book gives a good insight into some of the goings on within certain areas of the underworld. I have never had an inclination to commit a crime, certainly on this level and after reading this book I am glad I have kept to the sraight and narrow.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I really loved this book about charlie wilson it was a very interesting book very good reading couldnt put it done once I started
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Not a bad read...if you've read any other Train Robbery books you wil find the first half of this book familiar.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
The book gives a window into these areas and how they used to be and who lived there as compared to now. Some pictures would have made it better
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
Killing Charlie is great. I've always been intrigued with the Great Train Robbery, and read Bruce Reynolds book also.
The author did a great job. It was a real treat to read about Charlie Wilson's life. I am only very sad that he lost his life the way he did.

I got a major kick out of reading " Killing Charlie "

Warren Rutledge
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
I like Wesley Clarkson books and this was as good as the rest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)