Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2017
Thankyou. A lovely book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
A beautiful edition, was a much appreciated gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Really nice book on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
I am a mature adult but still love to read good childrens books. This particular edition of the book is beautifully illustrated by Roger Ingpen and each picture adds such warmth to the text and brings the characters to life. The timeless stories and the escapades that the creatures get up to never fail to amuse.
I love the language of yesterday and the vocabulary is evocative of a time gone by. I would certainly recommend this edition of the book to young and old alike.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Wind in the Willows is a much-loved children's classic: it revolves around the adventure of four key animal characters. The story is magical but this is a review primarily of the edition and not the story itself.

There are 224 pages in this edition (not 192 as Amazon states). It's a well-presented hardback book beautifully illustrated. The original story was illustrated by E.H.Shepard and although Robert Ingpen's illustrations here are quite different in style (gloomier and more atmospheric), they do justice to the story and have a similar kind of charm about them.

All in all, this has to be one of my favourite editions of the book - it looks great as a gift to any child (or adult for that matter!) The pages are really thick and the whole book is well-presented - you just know you're in for a treat when you open the book. Excellent!
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
This is not a book to be bought in paperback, to be forgotten, and discarded. It is a book to be treasured and looked after. I haven't read it for nearly ten years, having lost it in a house move. I've just ordered another hardback copy, with the original illustrations, on Amazon, and am really looking forward to meeting those old friends again. It's a book written for children, but it offers joy to all ages, and I'm nearly 70. There are messages for everyone, without it ever being really obvious, until you start to reflect on it afterwards. A very special contribution to English Literature.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2009
A really good edition of a well loved classic. I bought this to read to my daughter when she's a little older. Its one of those books everyone should have on their shelf and this special edition makes it even more worthwhile. Also pleased to see that there are other books in the same Edition series, so i may get some more.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
I bought Wind in the willows, A centenary edition, Templar publishing, illustrated by Robert Ingpen (2007).
An absolutely fantastic edition: beautiful illustrations throughout on every spread, tight binding, thick paper. Good dimensions of the book too, not to big as to be cumbersome to read, big enough for the illustrations to shine.

The book is lovely, rightfully a classic. Nothing more to add!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2010
wind in the willows is a great book for most ages. I've just finished reading it.i like the way it animals imitate people.the different animals all have differnt personalities like humans do. For instance Toad is a greedy and conceited animalAlthough Mole, badger and ratty are all quite similar in a way that there are caring especially the rat and the mole.the badger is more clever but more harsh on toad. it is very similar to animal farm in a way that animals represent people. I think this book is very well written by kenneth graham.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
Bought this for my cousin's son for his Christening present ... after which my sister told me that Wind In The Willows can be heavy going having read it to her son years ago ... whoops! As far as this version goes though the illustrations are beautiful so if you want WITW then this is definitely the one to go for :o)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here