Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
69
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£11.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2016
Arrived on time and in perfect condition. I was inspired to buy this book after watching his BBC series with the same title. I also own his India cookbook and really enjoyed the recipes. What's different about this book is its layout. It is set into Friday, Saturday and Sunday recipes with breakfast/lunch/dinner/desert ideas. Most of the stuff looks delicious but some of the ingredients are difficult to get (hence why i deducted a star). Like his other cookbooks, there are plenty of photos to help guide you. Again the recipes are easy to follow with usually no more than 5-6 steps. No fancy equipment is needed. The portions he makes are fairly large so you'll have to do some of your own calculations to make them meals for fewer people.
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2016
Beautifully designed and printed book. The recipes are mouth watering, and just want to make one cook them all, or at least travel around Europe to find them and enjoy them as much as Rick has. The photography is out of this world. A wonderful book
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
This is an interesting book with Ricks signature travelogue/cookery slant photos accompany most of the dishes along with landscapes and evocative snaps of town squares and vibrant markets. The recipes are sorted into breakfast/lunch and dinner from Fri-Sun. There are interesting recipes from each country visited. We are still waiting for the second half of the TV show which was apparently due to air in September 2016, but the book gives us a flavour of what to expect. He visits Cadiz, Palermo, Copenhagen ,Bolonga and Reykjavik,Berlin and Vienna among other locations. There are traditional recipes, piri piri chicken and Portuguese custard tarts from Lisbon as well as more esoteric recipes, Most sound/look appetizing. I am looking forward to planning a culinary weekend 'away'
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
Loved the series but the book has a few faults. First, I agree with other reviewers about the layout/ordering of recipes. I too would prefer them to be organised by place visited.

However, my big complaint - which applies to his previous Venice to Istanbul book too - is that the recipes are not always as shown on screen. I am currently re-watching the tv series with the book to hand, and in several instances the recipes are different. For example, Rick has just made apple strudel on screen and used currants. The recipe specifies raisins! Why?!

It's not a question of making smaller amounts for the book. Rick made chicken marsala on screen with one chicken breast and used 3 cloves of garlic; the book gives a recipe for 4 breasts & specifies ONE clove! It's more that the recipes have been toned down, possibly made to adhere more closely to what someone thinks will be British tastes? If so, I think they have totally missed the point. I want to recreate - as far as possible - what these dishes would taste like if I followed Rick to Vienna, or wherever. (This theory doesn't explain the swapping of currants to raisins either!)

If you really want to make a recipe from the series, I suggest you get the book and then find the relevant episode & watch again, with a pen to hand to annotate your book!
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2016
The format of the TV series is visiting a number of cities. Why the book doesn't follow this structure is a real shame - it misses the whole point.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed the TV series but was disappointed with the book in that all the recipes are together according to the time of day not the town visited. Lovely photos but are without name eg a picture of fish but what fish.? A street scene but where?
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2016
Not that keen on the layout. Great foodie photos but would prefer it place by place.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
The book gives details of the dishes shown in the programmes and, for those who want to go to the towns visited, there is an annex with details of hotels, restaurants and bars used by Rick Stein.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2016
I have bought many of Rick Stein's cookery / travel books over the years but this was one of the most disappointing, especially as I really enjoyed the series. As another reviewer has stated, I had expected the book to follow the order of the series with separate chapters and recipes on the places visited. Also, many of the recipes were not very original and I would have thought Rick could come up with a better selection.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2016
Bought as a gift for my foodie other half, she loved the Venice to Istanbul book and this is of similar quality & production. Nice big high-quality colour photos of the food, and of course loads of recipes from each destination/country, with background from Rick on each dish. A visual feast! As of October 2016 the second part of the TV series hasn't been on the BBC yet, but you can get a preview from the other cities to come in this book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)