Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 28 April 2016
A great Legion book. I've read a few now, the difference with this one is that Alex seems more at ease in the Legion than some other authors. His job as a photographer renders his experiences and opinion a bit different to others. His disgust at the workings and politics of the UN is interesting after his time with them. A great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2013
Most men have a midlife crisis, buy a motorbike, have an affair or some other menial thing, Alex Lochrie joined the French Foreign Legion.

This book neither glorifies not discredits the Legion in anyway, the last few paragraphs of the book say it all. Alex is proud to have served with 2REP but is no more proud of this fact as any other veteran or serving soldier is proud of their respective units. Above all the book is an excellent read without glorying battles scenes, if you want blood and guts depicting that sort of thing buy Rambo or some other Hollywood novel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2018
Good read and interesting comment about real life. Particularly interesting re the media reporters and their behaviour and their reporting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2017
Wanted to say thanks to Alex for writing a book which I couldn't put down and helped me get through two days of public order training in the downtime I had. Interesting look at a varied career for someone who spent some time in my current profession. Buy this book you won't be disappointed an honest and enthralling account of the legion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2016
A well written account of the modern French Foreign Legion.
Illustrating some very salient points about the uselessness of politicians & the doctoring of news by correspondents, as I have long suspected.
The book was as stated & the delivery was on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2017
An interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2017
Entertaining and engrossing account of life in 2rep. A clear and unbiased account that shows what life is really like. It brought memories back not of 2rep but 3rei and of the family and cameraderie like no other. Well recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2016
for an ex colleague, as a present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
The Memoirs of a Scottish Legionnaire very intriguing and is making a very good reading, which I am thorough enjoying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)