Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
16
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2014
A very enjoyable Rosemary Sutcliffe which I hadn 't read before. Definitely one of her best, up there with Eagle of the Ninth etc. T
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
Tis Okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2006
This is a riveting story of a gladiator who takes on the role of the deposed king of the Dalriada (early Scots) in order to lead their rebellion. Brutal from the start, and ending in a very ambivalent triumph, this is not a book for young children; indeed I doubt that it's really for children at all. Well painted characters and a gripping plot, with an unusual love story, set in a convincingly painted alien culture.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 January 2012
It is sometimes asked whether Sutcliff's books, with their strong themes, are suitable for children. I read this as a child of about 10 or 11; perhaps twice, unusual for me. Not merely the overwhelming force of the narrative but actual phrases from the text have stayed with me, word for word, for nearly half a century. Nothing in the story upset or puzzled me; Sutcliff was always adept at handling strong emotion and matters of love and death in ways that a bright child can understand without compromising their innocence of outlook. Each child will take from it what they can handle.

Yes, the plot has ambiguities and the characters are subtle, complex and flawed; surely that is not a bad thing? The topic of culture-shock as the Roman protagonist leaves the empire and crosses into Celtic Scotland is very nicely done. Both Roman Britain and the barbarian culture outside the Wall are portrayed richly and even-handedly.

Readers should know that the background is well-based in history. The Dalriada Scots crossed from Ireland bringing with them the Gaelic language, and came to dominate the whole country, their language and culture in time being adopted by the original Pictish population. Sutcliff bases a lot of her description of them on material from the contemporary Irish/Ulster legends, which deal with, among other subjects, the invasion of Scotland by the Dal Riada. Interested readers shouldn't miss The Hound Of Ulster (Red Fox Classics), Sutcliff's powerful and evocative retelling of the Ulster Cycle.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
This is an amazing book! I read it in translation at the library when I was a teenager, then lost sight of it, and only found the original title recently.

It's the very harsh tale set in Roman Britain, that has a freed gladiator involved in a conspiracy by the Dalriada (the 'horse people') to impersonate their deposed and blinded heir Midir in a bid for kingship against the ursupatory rule of their queen.

I loved the characters Sutcliff creates - Phaedrus himself, the queen's daughter Murna, androgynous Conroy who becomes the hero's rival-friend, and the true heir Midir, obsessed with vengeance.

The plot is action-packed and manages to bring history to life extremely well. It's also quite brutal, and not really a children's book at all. However, characterisation is not neglected and makes us care about the protagonists.

There's a touch of matriarchical versus patriarchical rule to the story, which made me a bit ambivalent about who to cheer for, but overall, it's an excellent read. It's a book I hadn't got out of my head in 25 years, and on reading it again it was as enjoyable as the first time.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
The Mark Of The Horse Lord is perhaps Rosemary Sutcliff's darkest novel. I should begin by saying this book is NOT suitable for young children. Don't make the mistake of buying this book for your 12 year old because The Eagle Of The Ninth was a great children's novel. This one is VERY different. It tells the tale of Phaedrus, a young gladiator who wins his freedom and is enlisted to play the Lord of the Dalriads because he is a dead ringer for cruelly mutilated real one. What follows is a breathless and often brutal adventure in which Phaedrus struggles to save the tribe and also wrestles with his own identity. There is very little in this book which is uplifting, but nevertheless it is easy to admire a master storyteller at the top of her game. If you don't mind being left depressed, it is highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2008
It's very much a good yarn, with elements such as two strangers who look very very alike (aka Prisoner of Zenda or A Tale of Two Cities), and lots of excitement and action. But there is a depth of emotion to the story; it draws you in to its world and makes you care deeply about the characters.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
Wish I'd found this book when I was a child. My own children are the wrong generation. And in response to another review, the ending is perfect. You'll see it coming. No ambiguity at all!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
provided you value loyalty and honour; if those are out of date or boring words to you, don't insult Sutcliff by reading this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I loved her books as a child & have recently gone back to read them again. Still page turners. Make more movies please :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse