Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2014
Not being naturally gifted in the 'craft' department, I need all the inspiration I can get, and this book is a sure-fire winner. Who would have thought that potting an orchid in a large clam shell could product something so stunning? (Not me).

This book offers just such guidance and inspiration - projects you would probably never think of by yourself. I particularly like the Peppercorn Wreath on Page 146 which is, in essence a small handful of twigs tied together with raffia, topped with small white candles sitting in proper, clip-on candle holders. The peppercorns are bought in their natural state (look like a small bunch of grapes) and are threaded onto the twig base. All this is then hung up via more raffia (but I used gingham (checked) fabric ribbon for a more Scandanavian look), and voila! (Note: if you have children and are worried about the health & safety aspect of using candles in this way, you can do what I did and thread battery-operated fairy lights through it, and use large pine cones (some kept their natural colour, others sprayed white and silver) atop the twig structure, and it still looks stunning).

Every single page has gorgeous photographs to illustrate the item being shown and the text is clear and simple to follow so if this type of crafting is new to you - or you simply don't have a crafting bone in your body like me - give this book a go.

A gorgeous gift for birthday or Christmas too for someone who is stressed or feeling a bit blue: making something like these projects will cheer their mind and spirit and give their home a sense of nature - and there's nothing better, is there?

This book is beautifully illustrated - stunning photographs - and easy to understand text for the novice to get going on a project of their choice. If I can master it, believe me, anyone can.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Such a beautiful and inspirational book
Have to keep picking it up and thumb through the pages
Very informative for budding florists and wannabe's
Love it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
This is an inspiring, beautiful book. Full of original , manageable ideas for your interiors . It's a great read with exquisite
imaginative photos of Willow's projects that bring the outside into your house. Not just a coffee table book at all - although it
is very decorative as an object in itself with its original binding and embossed cover. LOVE IT!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
I loved this book. Lots of lovely simple ideas which I am using for inspiration for home and also for work based projects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Beautifully presented book loved the special binding Contenrs so pleasing on the eye Sort of book u need on a winters day to give u ideas and drwams
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
The author claims this book is "eco-chic", and then she promotes the use of coral and in particular Sea Fan corals as decorations.

Corals are important for the continuing health of our oceans and should not be imported as fripperies, no matter how pretty they are. Corals are living entities not bits of rock. A Sea fan like the one on page 118 must have been ripped from the sea bed, as they are so very fragile they never wash up on the shore.

Quote from HM Revenue & Customs website on imports to the UK

"Souvenirs made from endangered species

Some souvenirs can be made from endangered plants or animals. Endangered species include:
•plants - such as orchids, cacti, mahogany and ramin trees
•animals - such as elephants, rhinos, whales, turtles, coral and many reptiles

Endangered species are protected by the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES). If you buy a souvenir made from one of these products, you may not be allowed to bring it in to the UK and could even face prosecution, or you may need to obtain a permit."

The author is promoting the collection and destruction of these endangered species to decorate our homes, don't encourage this, don't buy this book.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
This is such a lovely book amazing ideas and such a lovely coffee table book.Makes great present for friend too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
True inspiration from a great woman. I long to see more of her work in action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
This was a real disappointment. Nothing terribly new or creative. Not a patch on other, similar books. Derivative and unoriginal. What were the publishers thinking? Very glad I bought a second-hand, ex-library copy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2016
like new! very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)