Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 12 June 2014
Viking Knits & Ancient Ornaments by Elsebeth Lavold, hardback published by Search Press. ISBN 978-1-78221-153-2, price 19.99 available from[...]

Subtitled as 'interlace patterns from around the world in modern knitwear' and hailed on the back cover as 'A New Classic', this book features cabled knitwear on a Viking theme. The patterns are classic as in traditional and a little bit stuck in the 1980s. I would like to think there is more to knitwear design than taking an idea from an ancient culture, transforming it into a simple cable pattern and transferring it onto a basic pattern shape. Elsebeth promotes her own yarns throughout the book, so make sure you can match tension. I enjoyed the historical snippets and the book is well illustrated with original inspiration in the form of rune stones, beads, Celtic imagery and more, both photographs and Elsebeth's own drawings. So you can use the same starting points and come up with more inspired patterns if you are a designer. I do love Rusila, a kimono-style jacket; Signilo, a boxy jacket and Heidrun, a close-fitting sweater. There are other designs including a man's sweater, cushion, hat and bag and a child's jacket. If you love cable, Celtic or Viking, you'll love this.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
An amazing book of patterns that it so much more. Elements can be taken and used for other garments not just the beautiful ones in this book. The background and drawings and historical information make this a "coffee table" book as well as a pattern book. This is a book to savour and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
I first saw this book in my local library and just knew I had to own my own copy. I love the way the design sources are illustrated and explained, and then to see all the wonderful projects was really exciting. I have now marked many of these to make. A truly inspiring book..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Beautiful book, full of the mostly lovely patterns and lots of background and historical detail. I shall have to get working as I want to knit them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2016
Fabulous.. Lovely to read just as a book. Patterns are unusual, easy enough to follow if you have some knitting experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2015
Love the book but would not advise if you are a beginner or do not like using charts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
As well as the beautiful patterns there is interesting historical background to the cable patterns with lots of photographs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2016
Lovely book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
My book arrived today very interesting thanks janis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Excellent vendor, speedy despatch, delighted with my purchase. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)