Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2017
Quite a good book - especially for those who have tried and failed to understand other books and/or instructors.
It is not loaded with jargon, plus the photographs and video links make things far clearer than any line drawing could do.
That said, if you already have Lorna's 2008 Dressmaking Techniques Bible, you don't really need this 2014 version - unless of course you want access to the online demonstrations.
One mildly annoying aspect of the book is its emphasis on the use of sergers (overlockers).
Many of us just have sewing machines, some of which might have more bells and whistles than others - but a serger is a huge outlay if you're going to sew occasionally (or for fun) rather than professionally.
Domestic machines produced in the past 30 years offer zig-zag stitch at the very least - and many come with an over-locking/overcasting foot and an overlock stitch. All these improvements allow an excellent finish to seams and edges.
Yes, I know that sergers cut as well as sew - but dressmakers tend to have good scissors and other manual-cutting tools anyway.
A good buy if you have no other books on the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
I have purchased other books by Lorna and found them useful, but this seems to be a rehash of previous books. I found some of the instructions unclear, especially how to turn the sleeveless dress. Also I am not sure about the box pleat! I have never seen one that looks like that. Overall not a bad book but I think there are better ones on the market.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Bought as a gift for a novice. Thought the video links would be helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 17 February 2014
This comprehensive guide to dressmaking is compact and thorough. It is divided into chapters: Tools and Equipment; Fabrics and Haberdashery; Basic Sewing; Dressmaking Techniques; Working With Patterns; Customising Clothes; Couture Techniques and Troubleshooting. It contains just about everything you need to know whether you sew as a hobby or a professional. Great layout, easy to use with good photographs. The information is clear and the step-by-step techniques are foolproof. A bonus is the provision of 15 teaching clips to view online - you just need to scan the QR codes. It includes a good range of techniques, advice and tips. Great for all skill levels.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
I bought this for a young girl who is hooked on sewing, and hopes to make a business from it. So impressed I have ordered another for myself even though I am very experienced. Always more to learn and I fancy making underwear !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
 A must have book for the beginner dressmaker, with video content to help explain techniques.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
I got this book out of the library and loved it so much I asked for it as a birthday present. It's got loads of really good photos explaining the techniques and I thought the couture section would be really useful for improving the finish on items. Really good reference guide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is a really in depth reference guide covering everything you could want to know about dressmaking, aided by step by step photos of all the techniques. As well as giving advice on tools, fabrics and the common dressmaking techniques such as zips, seams, hems, pockets, tucks, collars, sleeves etc it also goes a step further than most dressmaking guides and has a section on couture techniques, and one on customising clothes as well.

There’s a good index in the back so you can go straight to the technique you need, plus a troubleshooting guide in the last chapter. Furthermore there is also a section on working with patterns including altering patterns or making your own. The book is supported by several online videos as well.

I think this book would make a great addition to your sewing library, I will certainly be keeping my copy close to hand!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Lovely book with easy to understand illustrations throughout. Would definitely recommend to the sewing beginners out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
this book covers a wide range of sewing tasks I have been sewing for many years but I still found this book full of interest and the video clips are great too you can keep playing over to see anything you missed but even wiothout the video clips I think most sewists will find the book very useful it covers beginners to more advanced so really useful
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)