Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2014
Perfect birthday present for 86 year old keen on tennis. He thought it was absolutely great, as Federer is his favourite.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Good read. Sent to Federer fan. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
disappointing for a true Federer fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
This book is basically a list of tennis matches Bowers attended. It offers a very limited insight to anything about Federer, it is just an educated guess from a super fan. A chronological order of tennis matches rather than anything personal or intriguing about the man himself. The worst book I read in quite some time.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2016
As a Federer fan I read everything about him. In fact, I bought the author's previous book Federer- The Greatest which I enjoyed. This one, less so! It brings the Federer story up to date from 2011 to 2106 but is crammed with great detail about most of his matches, from Grand Slams to Masters Series. Sometimes you wonder whether the author is more interested in pointing out all of the great man's failures, when he lost matches he should have won. This is not an authorised biography - to be fair, the author mentions this fact and, therein, lies the greatest problem. There is no new information to hand about Federer the man. I will wait till Federer downs his tools (not any time soon, I hope) and read what he has to say himself if he ever gets round to spilling the beans. To me, he remains the greatest sportsman, athlete and ambassador for tennis. This book does not do him justice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Easy reading, giving lots of facts from his early days to present. Interesting insight into a personality that outwardly is so cool on court, fascinating. Already been casually picked up by friends, who then can't put it down!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Thought this might be interesting. It wasn't - merely a list of facts that you could look up anywhere dressed up as a book. Very disappointing - and very boring.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
An interesting read if you follow tennis/sport and the career of Roger Federer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
This book started well but turned into a breakdown of his matches rather than an insight into the man himself. I appreciate its hard when you don't have Roger's input but it could have been much better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2017
As a fan of Roger Federer this was an interesting read. I was already aware of his exploits and record as a professional tennis player, but it was interesting to read about his junior years and the early days on the fringe of the circuit. It is not an autobiography, so it lacks some personal insights, but then Federer is a fiercely private man. I suspect there will be a new edition to this book after the recent triumph in the Australian Open. I wasn't overly keen on the use of exclamation marks, I don't need to be told when I should be excited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)