Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
27
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2016
All of the recipes in this book are attainable by even the most basic baker like me. Easy and scrumptious, every single one!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Got this for Grandson going to Uni. He loved it now its the granddaughters turn. Liked the utensil and ingredients lists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Very useful book for student. Promptly delivered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Bought for daughter. She loves it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
This is great for everyone!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
Bought for my almost 18yr old daughter, to get her practising before starting Uni later this year. She was thrilled with this and has seen so many recipes she can't wait to make in this and another book we got her. Today I've been supervising whilst she makes bread for the first time .. a bit of a stretch as her first loaf is Cheesy Courgette Caterpillar Bread! So far it looks very sticky indeed and we've followed the recipe to the letter, but it's on its first rise at the moment so we shall see in an hour!! Received the book very quickly - the day after it was ordered, so was enormously pleased.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Being a keen baker this was the very first of the three cookbooks in this series that I energetically leafed through. Whilst this is an excellent book for the beginner, there are a multitude of recipes that will appeal to the more experienced baker - they certainly appealed to me. It starts with some information and a few handy hints focussing on key ingredients and baking techniques. Chapters include: Small Bakes, Big Bakes, Traybakes, Baked Desserts and the not to be forgotten Breakfast Baking where the picture of a tray of cinnamon buns had me leaping around with delight. Bread has not been forgotten and the chapter on Easy Breads includes some basics such as crusty white loaf, wholemeal soda bread and pizza bases but also some more unusual flatbreads and a spectacular sounding cheesy courgette caterpillar bread loaf, which, with the current courgette glut we are experiencing, is on my list of things to bake soon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
This is a brilliant baking book. I'm not a student, but I do appreciate easy-to-follow, quick and tasty recipes, and this book is full of them! And what's more, most can be done with a wooden spoon, a mixing bowl and a couple of tins - perfect for those with limited cupboard space for storing bake-ware.

There are great pictures, clear ingredients lists (and the recipes tend to use ingredients that are easily accessible, unlike a lot of other books I've tried), step by step recipe instructions, and I'm yet to find a recipe in this book that doesn't turn out as it should. The muffin recipes are particularly good, especially the carrot, apple and sultana ones.

So overall, if you're looking for interesting and tasty cakes and bakes that can be thrown together in very little time and with very little fuss, then I'd heartily recommend this book!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Affordable and comprehensive collection of recipes.Especially liked the loaf cake recipes, rarely found elsewhere.
Lavishly illustrated recipes which will inspire the novice or experienced baking enthusiast to get baking.Useful sections covering equipment for the budget conscious student and techniques and tips in plain English. Made the Chocolate Brownies- easy recipe, excellent result
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
This is an excellent book not only for students! The recipes are clear, straightforward and varied and don't contain long lists of ingredients or require lots of equipment! There are a range of different recipes to try both savory and sweet and they really do make the mouth water. Moreover, I think they are really cost effective and impressive! Well done Charlotte, I'd recommend this book to anyone student or not
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse