Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 August 2013
I really enjoyed reading this book, following Katie Maguire as she runs a race against time to catch whoever is responsible for a series of brutal slayings of local priests in Cork. First though, she has to figure out why they are being singled out, all she knows is that they were involved in events going back to 1983 involving the abuse of children in their care. I have to say, that this is not a book for the faint hearted. The slayings are brutal and sadistic, full of torture and described in great detail. I found myself wincing quite a lot!

I really like the character of Katie. She has forged a successful career for herself in the Garda, is bright, intelligent, caring and feminine. I love the way she picked out what clothes to wear in order to make the right impression on certain occasions. She is also at something of a crossroads in her personal life, which made good reading and a break from the gory bloodfest going on all around her. The book is full of very good, realistic characters who are interesting to read about. The story flows well, for the most part, as the tale unfolds on the page. It is at times brutal but can also be passionate and every so often there are those little one liners that you often come across in Irish books that just put a great smile on your face.

However, I have to say that the read was spoiled for me by a lot of editing errors, mainly words missing which interrupted my reading quite a bit. There were also a couple of silly things that bugged me - at one point Katie had to speak on the telephone to a Garda officer in another division to order him to lend one of her officers a squad car, yet the next day she didn't know anything about it, as well as a fireman who wore sunglasses in the middle of the night!

All in all though, this is a really gripping page-turner.
55 comments| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
I chose this book because it was in the top ten best sellers on Amazon. I first read the sample and just had to download the whole book. Yes the book is shocking in places and I'm not easily shocked but this was gripping. I guess the contents are very topical. I can quite understand why some readers may find the contents scary but I think it was probably one of the best books I have ever read. It makes a change not being able to predict the ending.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
I don't usually bother doing reviews of books or films as they are largely a matter of personal taste, but I think this book should come with a warning that large tracts of it consist of badly written soft-core porn worthy of a nomination to the Literary Review's Bad Sex Award, for example its special emphasis on descriptions such as "plum like glans nestled between her lips" and other rather unrepeatable but hilariously bad descriptions of the act and descriptions of the participants' intimate organs.

These are all totally surplus to the plot.

I see from Wikipedia that the author used to be an editor of Mayfair and Penthouse, and certainly there is an air of "letters about readers' wives" about these passages.

I downloaded this book because I wanted to read a detective/murder novel, not smutty soft porn passages that resemble something written by a spotty adolescent. I'm so bored by its soft porn meanderings that I am abandoning it 30% of the way through.
33 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
This was my first 'Katie Maguire' book and I was not dissappointed. The story is graphically told but in a sensitive manner. This may upset people who have been the victims of abuse and could upset catholics. It has a believable main character who's life is not straight forward and adds to the complexities of the story.Highly recommended - I couldn't put it down!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
I enjoyed the first book in the series and was looking forward to reading this one, but I have to say I didn't enjoy it as much.Maybe you can have too much of a good thing, the "Irishness" if thats a proper word of the first book I found charming, but I started to get annoyed by it in this book, and felt it was overplayed,and I also didn't like Katie as much , and the other characters didn't stand out either.I might have found the descriptions of the murders in the first book hard to read but I found some things such as the rat in this book quite disgusting and I'm not easily shocked but I didn't like it.Its a shame because I thought I had found a new series I would enjoy but I don't think I will be reading any more in this series.
22 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
I absolutely love the Katie Maguire books-the stories are very clever and deal with unusual subjects.
Although police procedurals,the back stories of the cases being investigated are fascinating-more please!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
I read the first Katie Maguire and really enjoyed it but this seemed to go off half way I thought, and found I was getting a bit bored at times, which is a shame, I am a fan of Graham Masterton and usually love all his books.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Even when I don't like a book I will usually finish it but I'm sorely tempted to stop this one. The author seems caught in his own trap of starting with a faily graphic torture scene and then his only option is to make the next one worse, and so on. This becomes repetitive, sickening and unnecessary. I'll probably finish the book just to find out whodunnit. But I won't be reading any more from this author.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
I nearly gave up at around the 28% mark. After a promising start with the dead body in the river it seemed to have ground to a halt thriller-wise. There was some pretty boring reading then seemed to be heading into an explicit sex scene after we first had to endure some weird long-winded form of cookery lesson - pages of what to do with "crubeens", whatever the heck they are! I didn't understand half the strange Irish lingo and I'm afraid I found it irritating.

When the second body turned up I decided to give the book more of a chance and it did become more interesting, although what DS Katie Maguire, or anybody else dressed in, was not - not to me anyway. Other descriptions I also found long winded and boring. The story itself I found quite exciting eventually. Horror stories don't make me quake in my boots and not being over-religious I had no qualms about the author writing about the Catholic priests' wrongdoings and the Church's attempts to hide same.

I think the on going sub-story about Katie and John's love life and the "will she, won't she" was just to fill in, with the whingeing John turning up at inopportune moments. I think Katie and the readers would have been better without him.

Along the way much depended on coincidence, but then, isn't that always the way? The ending was unexpected and extremely unlikely, but then it IS a fictional story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
This is the first review I have posted on Amazon but I felt compelled to warn other potential readers about the detail of the torture described in this book. It was unexpected and not apparent from the reviews. As a recent convert to kindle I have downloaded some excellent books based on reviews but Broken Angels was a huge disappointment. The explicit details were quite shocking and the page where the rat appeared was the last one I read before deleting the whole book!
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here