Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
58
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2015
Beautifully written, a great introduction to the much overlooked Norse aspect of the pagan heritage of Ynis Prydein. Slightly let down by an over fluffy ending, but it doesn't detract from the book as a whole. Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Fantastic little book, my favourite short novel. Eloquent, imaginative, informative, caresses the heart and soul. Recommended for any one who enjoys the realms of deep spirit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
A wonderful book, you can read it two ways, either as a story or as an academic piece of research put together in the form of a novel. Either way, I loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2008
From a collection of manuscripts in the British museum, the author has created a story in an attempt to shed light on the spiritual outlook from the dark ages. I enjoyed discovering close parrallels with the views of an Anglo-Saxon shaman and with those known from oriental philosophies. The Christian scribe acts as the voice of the reader, struggling to marry his religious views with the healing power of the shaman, before becoming his apprentice. This is not pro-pagan nor anti-Christian, but clearly our Christian hero had eaten a few things that if tried today are likely to show up in a modern drugs test. It's an enjoyable, easy read that I found interesting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
what a really great book, would advise anyone to read this so interesting with loads of good 'stuff' in it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
This is a good book if you are into Scandinavian, Odinic belief systems as its backdrop and the connections it has with Norse, Danish and Saxon life in England and elsewhere from the standpoint of a Cunning Man or someone who dealt with healing and putting to rightness the sick who needed his administrations. This book covers quite a lot of what Wyrd is all about and acts as a forerunner to a more important work such as the Silmarilion by J.R.R. Tolkien and others such as Lord of the Rings and latterly, The Hobbit on the Big Screen. If you love Thor, Tolkien and Viking stuff you'll love this book too! Hugo Shepherd
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
brilliant
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
I am amazed that some people are calling this book badly written. I thought it was brilliantly written with amazing descriptions that brought the story to life. I can't vouch for the historical accuracy but the concepts resonated with my own intuition and I felt a deep resonance to it. There are some wonderful life lessons conveyed through the story. I throughly enjoyed it and read it as quickly as I could, I was gripped from start to finish!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
a very good book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
This book is a real gem. Based upon meticulous historical research, this is an extremely well written and entertaining tale that will appeal to anyone with an interest in genuine shamanic practice. In these days of ultra-commercialised, packaged "wisdom" promising "instant enlightenment", this book is as refreshing as it is enjoyable. Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)