Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2014
Any excellent book for those interested in armoured warfare.Having served in his regiment and having met the author at the Sgts Mess during the regimental standards parade in Paderborn I count myself rather privileged to met and talked to him
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
a truly good book about the 3rd Royal Tank Regiment well written and told by a man who was there till the end no punches pulled
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 July 2014
A great read. As a former armoured cavalryman with the British Army I have a better insight than most to what combat from inside a tank is like. I enjoyed Bill Close's description. I could recommend this to anyone from an historical and enjoyable read perspective,.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
What a great read. Will written by a funny man who served throughout WW2 starting as a corporal and finishing as a company commander with two Military Crosses to his name. Anyone who loses 11 tanks and survives to apologies to Her Majesty the Queen is worth reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
A comprehensive diary of personal experiences of most of the major British tank actions during the Second World War. A gripping narrative giving insight to both the tactics and "fog of war" limitations of commanding tank squadrons in the front line.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
This is one of the best books I have read about the campaigns in France and Germany.
Very well written and highlights the very close comradeship of tank crews at times of
great stress.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
A tankies war written by a tanky. He tells it well, though at times it is more Walt Disney War Horse than Band of Brothers. If you want it from 1939 to 1945 this is a book for you. War from the turret of several tanks. I always envied the tankies rumbling here, there and everywhere,I neen't have bothered, they cracked on and also cracked up like the rest of us.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
Very few of the many books I've read on WW 2 follow the exploits of one man throughout the war in almost continual action those that do gloss over a lot of things that happened.......here Bill close presents his war as he saw it the good and the bad a very enjoyable read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
A classic and one of the best descriptions of tank warfare I've ever read. I have to declare an interest, the author was an old comrade of my father's (Major John Dunlop) and I had the pleasure of meeting him a few times in the 1980s and 90s.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
As an ex tanks of 25 years service from 1977 to 2002 this book took me back to the days of being in a Tank crew. From gunner through to Commander.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)