Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
46
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 October 2013
A very short book which lists all the high demands associated with an outstanding lesson but gives very little practical advice on how to attain them. If this book were a lesson, it would amount to not much more than the presentation of the learning objectives at the start. You do sometimes wonder how often the people who make money out of describing the generalised qualities of an outstanding lesson actually have to turn their high-minded ideals into an actual lesson.
Additionally, the book is not recommended on the Kindle as the tables are not easy to read.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
I bought and read this with a view to implement the techniques discussed into everyday lessons, not just inspected ones. I am due to start my PGCE course in September and have been nervous about it for a while. This book has done a lot to put me at ease. The flow charts were a tad confusing, hence 4 stars instead of 5 - however, this is still a brilliant book that I would recommend to all PGCE students.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
I chose this book because just like the saying goes, 'never judge a book by it's cover'; well it was because of it's cover that I chose this book as it's small, to the point and content relates to what I'll be going through when Ofsted is due in at any time soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
A great book with loads of practical tips and advice - for everyday not just an ofsted visit. Got me an Outstanding!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
I read it so I'm giving It more than one star. Just makes me depressed as long list of things about turning water into wine (being beyond outstanding) without any actual ways of HOW to do it. Written by someone who doesn't teach atm?!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
Jackie Beare provides teachers and governors with an excellent overview of the task of teachers today. Both primary and secondary teachers will find much of help to them. You can quickly skip what does not apply directly to you. But if you do make sure you do not miss the essential principles to be grasped. She has updated the volume to cover the post September 2012 Ofsted demands. Although not called upon to deliver perfect lessons governors will be helped to see from this volume the exacting demands put upon their staff. This may judtifiably be classed "essential reading".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Great for reviewing your own teaching skills and knowledge. Lots of ideas to try that will ensure students enjoy learning and you will enjoy teaching. I use this when I am coaching NQT's or teachers who need to move from Good to Outstanding. Well worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
A very clear list of everything you need to include in a lesson, not many ideas on HOW to go about doing that though. If you already know what you need to do but have run out of creativity, not much to give you
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
couldn't recommend this book enough. It has helped me develop my teaching so much. It's nice a small so can be carried around and refereed to whenever needed and it's written in a simple and to the point way. Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Beere's writing style makes the book incredibly accessible. The size of the book also makes it a practical tool as you're not left reading hundreds of pages to gain the important information. Everything included in the book is useful and it even provides a dose of well needed humour in light of the negative press the teaching profession is currently receiving. All things considered, this is a must buy for teachers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)