Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2014
Once again I’ve enjoyed my stay with time-slip Alex and her husband, Mathew Graham. This time I met the pair, almost four years after their departure from Scotland in 1668. Settled into their new home in the American colonies, with a cabin built and six children in the family nest, inclusive Mathew’s eldest boy from a previous marriage, life is tough and sweet in measured doses. Strong sons, too, are godsend, for life on the land is tough when you’re hewing crop and meadowland from the native habitat of woodland and scrub.

Domesticity in the New Americas is not exactly turn-of-switch wash days, and of ironing and vacuuming, something that was, at one time, second nature to 21st century born Alex: before she was thrown back through time to a hillside in 17th century Scotland. Memories of her past life do tug at her heartstrings from time to time. But even if a return ticket to the future was possible, Alex would want to take her present family with her and how would one explain away an instant family transported from the past? Equally, the chances are not all would elect to go forward in time, and Alex could never leave Mathew (love of her life) behind. Nonetheless, portals to and from the future exist, and an unexpected 21st century visitor brings the joy and pain of loss to the fore, not only for Alex but for him too.

The title ‘A Newfoundland’ is exactly what it says. This novel is all about the building of a new life for the Graham family, in which old friends and arch enemies cross paths. While old friends celebrate, and scores are settled with enemies, there is one that is to remain a thorn in Alex side. In the meanwhile, the Graham’s make much of love and procreation. I’m wondering if by the next book they’ll have a baker’s dozen in total inclusive Alex’ son Isaac back in 21st century UK, and Mathew’s eldest 17th century son, Ian.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
Although this is the fourth novel in The Graham Saga, I was surprised at how well it copes as a stand-alone story. Of course, there is a progressive story arc that obviously stretches over the whole series, but it's incredibly easy to slip into the action, even at this stage in the story, and pick up where the previous novel left off without being intimately acquainted with the events that have already occurred. The aforementioned events are alluded to in such a way that there is a seamless enjoyment to be had here.

The female lead, Alexandra Lind, is a feisty, modern woman, very much of her time, so there are always going to be problems for her blending in entirely with the 17th century, when women didn't really have a voice or any rights. By this point in the saga, she has carved her niche in her new world, but there are still elements that rankle her, usually to do with equality issues. This makes for a wonderful friction between Alex and her husband of now some fourteen years, as he is very firmly of his own time, some 400 years behind hers. This often serves to highlight elements of an earlier time that still have relevance today, and means the reader has cause to think about their own feelings on the subject, asking themselves how they would cope under similar circumstances.

There are definitely parallels to be made to another popular time-travel romance series (Outlander by Diana Gabaldon), and this will certainly appeal to fans of that series, but it doesn't feel like a carbon copy or something that is trying to be like another book. Instead it freely pays homage to it while being its own thing.

The writing is both tight and evocative, plunging the reader into the past and forcing one to consider the harsh realities of frontier living, whilst also feeling very grateful for the modern conveniences now absent from the heroine's life. The characters jump off the page, almost living and breathing in front of one's eyes, ensuring total immersion on Belfrage's time travel drama, leaving one breathless when one reaches the conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
"A Newfound Land is the fourth book in Anna Belfrage's time slip series featuring time traveller Alexandra Lind and her seventeenth century husband, Matthew Graham".

The story of Matthew and Alex continue in Newfound Land by Anna Belfrage in the Colony of Maryland in 1672.
The family has been successful, in their new land as land owners but they find that their enemies have found them again. Men who are greedy and vengeful against the Graham family. Alex's father, Magnus has joined the family. He wanted to see Alex again before he died of the cancer that is taking over his body. Alex and Matthew now have eight children, the older son Ian, gets married. In a time of unrest, what with slave traders, men capturing white women, young boys disappearing and Indian treaties being disregarded by the white man, the Graham's have a myriad of issues to contend with. They have made friends with the Susquehannock tribe in the area so that does help when the Burley brothers come looking for Matthew to settle an old score.

This is a wonderful family saga that rivals other time travel books like Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. With an eye for historical detail and family life during this time period, Ms. Belfrage has written a very readable saga that is sure to appeal to the historical fiction fan. I only wish I had read the first two books in the series..so I would know the back story, but I will remedy that one day. I look forward to reading the next book, Serpents in the Garden.

I received this book as part of the tour from the author and was not monetarily compensated for my review..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
A Newfound Land
by Anna Belfrage

Review by Michael E. Wills

At the outset I have to say that I am not a fan of magic and sorcery, so I approached reading a time-slip novel with some caution if not a modicum of scepticism. However, I was attracted to read one of Anna’s novels having enjoyed her fresh and entertaining style of writing in her Face Book contributions and her blog. I was also intrigued to find out to what extent Anna might have been inspired by that classic tale of emigrants, “Unto a Good Land”, written by one of her countrymen Vilhelm Moberg, albeit that Anna’s books cover an earlier period.
A Newfound Land is the fourth book in Anna’s time slip series, The Graham Saga, which features time traveller Alexandra Lind and her seventeenth century husband, Matthew Graham. The family having left Scotland due to religious conflicts has settled in the wilds of the English colony of Maryland.
I had a concern about how I would pick up the story with my entrance into the Graham Saga at its fourth book. However, Anna deals with this potential problem very deftly by using references to what has gone before in such a way that one gets an insight into the earlier part of the story. I did nevertheless have some difficulty identifying who was who, with the sheer quantity of names of children, neighbours and twenty-first century relatives. This is a problem which those who had read the Saga from the beginning would not have.
As an historical novelist myself, I quickly recognised the amount of careful research which must preceded the writing. The research necessary for the book not only required a very good knowledge of the lifestyle, clothing, food and privations suffered by the seventeenth century immigrants, but also a considerable amount of knowledge about the landscapes, flora and fauna of the wilderness in which these people found themselves.
As regards the privations suffered by the settlers, as well as the natural phenomena which at various junctures threaten the well being of the family in their isolated homestead, the author paints a vivid picture of some very nasty villains. The latter appear regularly through the novel, just as it seems that things are going well for the protagonists and add excitement to the read. The accounts of some of the confrontations are gripping and real page turners.
The story is often sensual and the portrayal of the relationship between husband and wife is particularly so. There are also movingly sensitive passages such as that describing the last hours of Alex’s father’s life. The plight of the Native Americans is touched on and the beginnings of their exploitation and annihilation, which would last another two hundred years, are described well.
All in all a most readable book. My fear that the work’s reliance on mysticism would intrude on my enjoyment of the novel was quite unfounded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
This timeslip series by Anna Belfrage is one to savour and enjoy. Each story is a stand-alone, but I would recommend starting at the beginning and working your way through - you've a delight in store!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
We are proud to announce that A NEWFOUND LAND by Anna Belfrage is a B.R.A.G.Medallion Honoree. This tells a reader that this book is well worth their time and money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
haven't completed it but good so far!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Great product, great service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here