Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2017
A great read, even for someone with no interest in Rugby. An insight into the mental conditioning which transforms raw talent into brilliance. I wish every Ulster Rugby player had McCaw's mental strength.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
Not the read I was expecting. If I wanted a full blow by blow of certain games I would have got the deaf persons guide to the games played on the tele. I would have liked to read more about his childhood and other experiences. This book however did change my view on Graham Henry and as such look forward to reading his book. Would only recommend this book if you fancy reading the scripts of certain games.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Interesting view into the mindset of one of the game's greats as he seeks redemption for one of the French's smash and grab raids. Concentrates on a very narrow passage of time in his life, and offers nothing controversial - his view of Wayne Barnes is shared by many!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Such a great player deserves a far, far better autobiography. At the end of the book, I still had no idea what makes him one of rugby's all time greats. Where were the insights on his technique? What about his training regime? And where were the observations on the major battles he faced on the field? The book is so littered with dense match reports from irrelevant games that the book misses its key objective of providing any valuable new commentary on the great man. I've been well educated about his gliding career, but little else.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Good Product and Good Delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Well received gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2017
On time and as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
There's much to enjoy about this book in terms of the writing style, presentation and how it focuses on the key moments of McCaw's career without dwelling on a chronological approach. It gives you a great insight into his thought process and is a useful tool for sports psychology and coping with negatives. I enjoyed the approach by concentrating on the gap between the two pivotal games vs France and how it turns full circle. There are several great stories about a leadership seminar, the earthquake, a couple of team talks, technical aspects of the game and his relationships with teammates and coaches....

But it feels like something is missing. McCaw is an admitted private person and he doesn't seem to completely lift the curtain on himself. Apart from his love of running and gliding, you don't get to find out too much about what makes him tick. Maybe it's because of the kind of person that he is and the lack of controversy in his career (besides a brief rivalry with Quade Cooper) that usually make for great reading.

For an example of what I mean, John Smit's book has a lot more depth to it while following a similar path to the same goal. Enjoyable though, and what a player.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
Great book, well written. Not your usual run of the mill autobiography where the subject tells all about themselves - Richie doesn't tell you a massive amount about his private life as that's what it is - private. Richie comes across as a really down to earth, likeable guy who genuinely loves playing rugby and gives you an insight into his rugby highs and well documented lows. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
If you wanted a long history of McCaw's youth this isn't it. For me, that's not a problem. I would like to have heard more about the psychology that he took into each of his games but even the understated approach to this book is indication enough that the guy may not consider himself, still, a GAB (Great All Black).

He does explain the fear of failure and the desire to play alongside your mates very well and I enjoyed understanding a little more about the turmoil in the coaching selections and the pressure put upon the greatest rugby nation by their media (I'm English btw). It is testament to the book that I read this quickly and wanted to get back to it after putting it down each time. There could be a little improvement to the editing of the timelines but, other than that, an interesting and entertaining sporting autobiography.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)