Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 9 December 2014
Brilliant exposé of a government's murder of hundreds of its own citizens. I believe even IRA and Sinn Féin members (who knew there was collusion) are shocked about the extent of British involvement with the loyalist death squads. They killed random, uninvolved Catholics to terrorise the nationalist population.
The book also shows the Dublin media for what they were: cowards. Irish journalists (with very few exceptions) never made any attempt to investigate this story, and that has to be the most shameful dereliction of professional duty in recent memory. Although, when Ireland was a virtual theocracy they said nothing,,,, when Bertie Ahern and Mary Harney were destroying the economy they said nothing. Our media are a disgrace to themselves and their families.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Fantastic account of events
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Even though I am well aware of the history of collusion, reading this book forced me to draw breath and recall just how subversive, murderous and immoral was the British state and its cheer leaders in unionism and its apologists in the media. Anne Cadwallader is a good writer, forensic in her approach. Like her last book, Holy Cross, she cuts through the propaganda, the excuses, the pretexts, and lays bare the incontrovertible evidence of the British state's involvement in murdering and in condoning the murders of its own citizens.
66 Comments| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
more rubbish, to sell books to fanatics who read what they want to read rather than an objective account
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Easy to read informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
This book covers a period I remember well and lived through. The deaths of several friends are covered and you have to keep an objective mind when reading it. It is an excellent bit of research but what will the British government do about it. Nothing? I recommend this book to anyone who lived through the "troubles" and anyone who really wants to know the truth.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
Riveting. Clearly a tremendous amount of research has gone into this book. It reveals a very dark side to our history that has yet to be properly address by the authorities - and I suspect never will be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
This insight into how countless and pointless killings were carried out, were shocking to read and accept. But a mere Google search and it gets confirmed. Anne's " no holds barred" approach to writing this novel, is at the very least. A fitting tribute to those who were murdered and a closure, for those wanting the truth.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2016
Absolutely brilliant
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2016
Freddie Mercury and co asked us, 'Is this the real life, is this just fantasy?'
I'm afraid this book falls into the latter category. In Holy Cross, Cadwallader at least tried to mask her distaste for the majority community in Northern Ireland. In this fantasy, I am afraid the mask well and truly drops. Just another element of the reinvention of the 'Troubles' narrative, I fear.
Irish Republicans masquerading as the 'great put upon', once again
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)