Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
50
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£15.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2017
Mark Millar (the genius behind Kick-Ads & Wanted) brings his love letter to the James Bond characters in this brilliant, satirical look at the espionage game. It's now a film which is just as good but this book (Graphic Novel) is outstanding, beautifully drawn, fantastic script and story adds to overall rating of 5 stars.

When a super spy takes his nephew under his wing, he proves that with a little support, understanding and the opportunity to be given, those given the monikers of work shy, louts and those from the poorer communities can overcome anything.

It's a great story, a must read and anyone who loved kick-Ass, Wanted and Huck will love this.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
Saw the film and soon realized it was based on a comic. Had to read it as the film was brilliant and so is the comic. Inspired pastiche on the 60's spy movies with great writing and artwork. Looking forward to the next graphic novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Great little comic - hoping they do more. Cannot wait to see the film now.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Good comic book of the film, or maybe the other way round. Either way its good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Better than the film. Another great story by Mark Millar with outstanding artwork by Dave Gibbons, but then I grew up with his Harlem Heroes & other 2000AD work.

Loved it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
Following the recent release of the Kingsman movie at the start of 2015 I decided to pick up the source material in the form of Millar/Gibbon's graphic novel.

I am already very keen on Millar's other works including Jupiter's Circle, Kick Ass and the charming Starlight. The Secret Service maintains many key traits of Millar's writing including heavy violence, an astute wit and excellent pacing. There are enough differences from the film to make this an enjoyable read and as a stand alone I can only imagine it would be difficult to put down!

There are a lot of wonderful references to comic culture (in particular marvel) to keep a light hearted edge amongst some of the more gory events. The overlay of a James Bond esque approach to espionage is a lovely tribute to the Sean Connery era of said films. That said the book hits hard and has its share of surprises.

The physical book is well bound and printed on thick high quality paper allowing the artwork to really stand out. It is a fantastic purchase and the ideal way to enjoy this exciting comic.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 January 2015
Secret Service is a fun concept ultimately mishandled, I think. I have read only a few of Mark Millar's previous books: Superior, Kick Ass and Supercrooks and I have to say I loved each one to the point where I have read and re-read each of them. Each of these books has something different to commend it and to separate it from both the mainstream and from one's expectations. Unfortunately Secret Service isn't really in the same league. It starts promisingly enough, the opening sequence being a funny spoof on The Spy Who Loved Me, and the first half of the story actually does a good job in building up expectations. Yes, of course, Eggsy's training regime is massively curtailed, but there's a long history of that stretching back to the early Marvel Superheroes (and probably beyond) and up to the point where the hero is fully trained everything works. The problems start when he puts on a suit. Suddenly there is nothing to distinguish the two main characters, in actions or in looks, and some of the situations and sentiments start to veer towards cliché and triteness. I found myself reading the last chapter just to see it out and, at the end, feeling a little disappointed in having high hopes dashed.
So, fun at the start and not bad, as such. Just not great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Really great there's only a small number of things where the book is better than the movie it was made into and this is 1of the very few.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Mark Millar has written another ultra-violent book. And if that was all there was to the book then I would recommend that you avoid it. But as a pastiche of all the Bond movies coupled with moves that makes Kick Ass look tame, then it is a must-read from me.

Eggsy is the underachiever of all time, but he is given the chance to be better, than the sinkhole estate that he has grown up in, by his Uncle who is a spy of the extremely violent kind, but with the veneer of respectability that Bond always exudes.

The art from Gibbons is as great as ever and I have to say that this is a comic book worth having in your collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
I bought this comic after we watched the Kingsman movie a few weeks ago. My partner and I both agreed that, kudos for having inspired the movie, this is one of those cases that the movie is far better than the comic. It's a nice read though, and very smart.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.68
£10.99

Need customer service? Click here