Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2014
A superb book in every respect. The illustrations and photographs are all beautifully presented and the text is very well researched. My only criticism is the small font used. I should say that I do have an eyesight problem so it's probably ok for most. I have no issues with the content and presentation. My wife thinks I'm 12 again. Is that a problem?
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
Descriptions of the Batmobile from it's earliest inception to the latest incarnation the Tumbler...
One reviewer questions the use of panels from Batman comic stories but I think they enhance the readers visualization of past Batmobiles since not all the cars have been built except as die cast models.
If you only remember George Barris' 1966 Batmobile or Michael Keatons 1989 Batmobile then this book will help you realise why the Batmobile is such an automotive icon and a vehicle that spurs on memories and wishes with equal delight and desire.
So in summary, this book rekindles the older generations desire for the Adam West 1966 Batmobile while introducing the younger generations to the whole Batman/Batmobile ethos. If you like either or both then read this,its pages are full of words of wisdom from those who designed, built and drove these wonderful cars, even if you only look at the stunning pictures you'll mutter the same words as Lt. Jim Gordon, " I gotta get me one of those"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
This is a really excellent book, written from Bruce Wayne's /Batman's point of view, talking about the various characters and gadgets featured in Nolan's trilogy, as if they were real world events/objects.
It features a variety of pull out plans, and stuck in inserts, so that it resembles one of those history books that have facsimile documents, but the content is all Batman related.

It has tremendous use of spot varnish resembling sellotape, and I really love the joker cards.

The tiny niggles are that the enclosed stickers tend to glue themselves to the opposite page and damage them. Some tissue paper separators would not have gone amiss. This problem is likely to increase over time, as the glue seeps out from the stickers.
Also some of the 'post it' notes are glued over the pictures, and a few cm's to the left or right could have avoided this.
The Bat Cave pull out, seems to have been reproduced from the studio plans as it has a studio-like building around it, and also the entrance for the Batmobile is partially is blocked by a wall

Overall I loved the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
this is a book for the person interested in vehicles such as I ,if batman is the idol then batmobile is the icon I have very few idols but quite a number of icons and most of these have round wheels with tyres on them
So if you are buying this for a young fan as a stocking filler then maybe not ,but if for a older fan who is used to more than one actor and more than one car then they will be delighted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 November 2014
 This book is a celebration of one of the most iconic pieces of hardware in comic book and movie history -- the Batmobile. It's fascinating to see all the different designs and how they have progressed over the years. In my opinion, it is great that the Batmobile has been able to be reinvented so many times - from the fantastical to the functional.

One thing to note is that the vehicles of Nolan's Dark Knight Trilogy, including the Tumbler, take up a large portion of the book. Other Batmobile iterations are certainly included, but they don't have as much space in the book as the Tumbler. The cover suggests as much, and as a fan of the Tumbler I am completely fine with this -- but fans of the older Batmobiles might find this disappointing. The second-most featured Batmobile is probably that from the 1989 Burton film.

Included are a lot of high-res images of the various Batmobiles, both exterior and interior. I was really impress with the included photographs - it's great to be able to see the details of the vehicles and their components. However, I would have liked more cross-sections, concept art, measurements, mock-ups, etc. Most images are of the final product, so unfortunately there's not much insight into the process of designing these amazing vehicles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
I bought this as a gift for a good friend, he loved it. What more needs to be said than that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Highly recommend this fabulous read. It's a must for any Batman Fan.
Very informative, lovely gloss book worth the price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
This batmobile book is amazing!The quality of the photos is outstanding!!The book is quite big.The book tells you loads of info about each batmobile.However I don't know why it has parts from the Batman comics but overall it is an amazing book.I highly recmmend you buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
this product was exactly what I expected, good quality and also a great gift. I would use this provider again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Informative history and design of the batmobile.Great!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse